A (fall) Bucket List

Running a bit behind today – I feel asleep at 8 last night and woke up at 7 this morning with my alarm.  With just a single trip to the bathroom.  That’s how tired I’ve been!  I’ve spent the last week feeling more worn out than I ever did in my first trimester.  What the heck!?  Anyway, onto today’s regularly scheduled programming…

I have two free Saturdays between now and Mini M’s due date.  TWO.  Between working and baby classes – this mama will be busy, busy, busy.  I have plenty of Sundays to soak in the time left with my family of four, but I know it’s going to fly by.

Fall is my favorite time of year.  The weather is perfect.  It’s beautiful.  And pumpkin.  Yes, pumpkin.  Enough said.  Who remembers my Trader Joe’s haul last year?  I’ve already enjoyed pumpkin waffles and pumpkin macaroons from TJ’s this year. Yum!

In addition to buying all the pumpkin things, here are some things I want to do in the next 10-ish weeks:

Apple Orchard/Pumpkin Patch
Craig and I actually found a bomb pumpkin patch while living in Tennessee, called Grandaddy’s Farm.  We went in 2011 and 2012 and it was a fun, easy way to spend an afternoon.  Last year, I found a Groupon to check out a Wisconsin corn maze – whichhh was pretty lame.  On the way home, though, we swung by the Elegant Farmer, because we were in the area.  The Elegant Farmer is famous for their Apple Pie Baked in a Paper Bag.  We were nearby, Craig had never had one of their pies, so I suggested we stop by.  Little did I know they have an epic fall setup.  The orchard, pumpkin patch, cider donuts, and home-baked goods.  Swoon.  I was so upset that I hadn’t thought to check them out first.  So, this year – Elegant Farmer it is!

Watch lots of football
Wait, what?  Who am I?  Truth is, I don’t care to sit for extended periods of time watching any sort of television.  BUT.  Craig loves (loves) football, especially the Packers.  It’s his quiet time.  I don’t like to just sit.  However, I’m going to take the time to just sit and be with him – because our days as two are numbered.  Pretty soon we will be overtired, begging for a few hours to just sit.

Make homemade applesauce
I’ve found some awesome recipes to try out in the crock pot.  The plan is to stock up at the Elegant Farmer apple orchard and make some epic applesauce to enjoy!

Carve pumpkins
Craig doesn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I do, but he humors me.  We never got around to it last year and I felt a little sad about it.

Take short hikes
There are some nice local trails that are quite easy to walk.  I want to get out and enjoy the cool weather and colors!  The pups really enjoy getting out into some different scenery, too!

Have family pictures taken
Sunday, we are meeting up with Craig’s cousin who has a photography business.  She ‘s doing our “maternity” photos.  As excited as I am for the little guy, I don’t want the bump to be the main focus.  Instead, I want them to be “family” photos of me and Craig.  We had photos taken in December 2012 and they’re some of my favorite.  See that photo on the right?  That’s one of ’em.  I definitely want to document my pregnancy, but also want to celebrate the little family we’ve established so far.

Find a farmer’s market
We stumbled upon one last year, but I haven’t been to one since.  Madison is widely known for theirs, but with only 2 free Saturdays, I don’t foresee myself spending one of them willingly walking into an extremely crowded capital square to enjoy farmer’s market.  I’ll opt for a smaller, local market.

What are some of the items on your fall bucket list?

Thoughts?