A Challenge For October

Oh, hey.

I’ve just been over here living life with the most awesome little person on the face of the planet.  I’m obviously not biased.

swing

I’ve been keeping up with you all behind the scenes, reading blogs on the reg.  It just seems that after bedtime, I’m much more content reading about you all versus articulating any of my own thoughts.  Thinking is hard, guys.  It’s even harder when you have an extra human being to keep alive.  My  mind often is consumed with diapers and bottles and “Oh my gosh, is this food cut up small enough so he won’t choke? Wait, is it TOO small and he WILL choke!?”  It’s glamorous.  And I love it.

food

ANYwho.

For about a month now, I’ve thought about coming back to this space.  So, here I am.  Did I mention that procrastination is also a new trait of mine?  Sleep trumps all, folks.  Sleep. Trumps. All.

So, why am I here today?

Some time ago I wrote a post about my experience with Mint.  Mint has been the single thing that had gotten me on track with a budget.  And I was doing pretty good!  And then I had a baby.  Eddie has his own “budget” for clothes, formula, etc.  Turns out Eddie can’t stick to a budget.  TINY BABY SHOES.  HE NEEDS THAT SILICONE BANANA TOOTHBRUSH.  AND THE CHEAP PLASTIC STACKING RINGS.  THAT GIANT TEDDY BEAR!?  IT’S SO FLUFFY.  ALL. THE. THINGS.

Add to all of that, the fact that I have somehow managed to GAIN weight rather than lose it, leading to the purchase of clothes that I’m sad fit me comfortably. Blah, blah, blah – all of that to say that I’ve become a woman spending money like MAD.

What does one do when her husband has to sit her down to kindly remind her that money doesn’t grow on trees?

Irrationally blurt out that you vow to not spend a penny for A MONTH.

Yes.  I’m an idiot.

But, then he said that he didn’t think I could do it.  So, obviously, I have to.  Just to prove him wrong.  Because that’s what I do.

I’ve told my friends and coworkers (and all of you!) with the hope that it will help me stay motivated to prove my husband wrong.  I CAN do this.  However, upon telling my friends and coworkers – they’re reaction was along the lines of “why on earth would you do that to yourself!?”

Because: I’m an idiot.  But now, it’s about proving my husband wrong.  Whatever it takes, I guess?

Now, don’t you worry.  We won’t starve.  I’m still shopping for food and other things necessary for survival – it just means I’m passing on the Pumpkin Spice Lattes, that super adorable outfit, and all the adorable itty bitty baby shoes.  I CAN DO IT.

5 comments

  1. How are you liking using Mint? We use the app EveryDollar and I love it, but I’ve heard good things about Mint. I must admit, one of my favorite things is that a have a “play money” category- it keeps me sane. It’s not much, but it makes me feel like I’m not deprived on our quest to save money and pay off our debt! This past year we’ve paid off about $100k of my husbands school loans. Budgeting is so worth it!
    Thanks for sharing!
    ❤️Smitha

    Like

    1. That’s awesome! I haven’t heard of EveryDollar before – so, I can’t compare them. But, I LOVE using Mint. Super user friendly and the app is a lifesaver. You could create a “play money” category in Mint if you wanted to try a different program. I know how much work budgets are to get set up, though! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You can totally do this!! Do you have the capability to track what you *would* have spent had you given in on the urge to get that PSL, or a new clothing purchase? Like….could you maybe move $$ from one account to a savings account? And then, at the end of the month, you end up with a little prize stash of money that could be spent on something a little more useful in the long run?

    Like

    1. Ohhh, that’s a good idea! I find that I do spend money on things in the “heat of the moment” and then a bigger “prize” rolls around and I wish I had saved for it. I’m totally going to try implementing that next month! Plus, it will be some extra savings for some extra special Christmas gifts!

      Like

Thoughts?

