Show and Tell Tuesdays: Organization

It’s show and tell time!  If you want in on the fun, check out Andrea at Momfessionals!

Show and Tell Banner - mwn
This week, it’s all about organizational tips and tricks.  I’d like to think that many people consider me an organized individual.  But, that’s because they don’t see my dining room.  I’m a pile-maker.  And it just so happens that those piles typically accumulate on my dining room table and on top of my dresser.  It drives Craig insane.  In my defense, I can typically find what I’m looking for within just a couple minutes.

That being said, there are a few things that I am a little bit OCD about.  One of those is schedule/calendar.  I am a prompt individual.  Perhaps my biggest pet peeve (outside of listening to someone with the hiccups), is being late.  And yes, thus far, I’ve remained prompt despite the fact I have a tiny human to prepare for my outings.  I don’t doubt that there will be a time that Eddie helps to make me late, but I’ll show up, apologizing profusely, mortified that I’m a mere 5 minutes late.  Seriously.

So, how do I keep my calendar organized?  First and foremost, my iPhone calendar is used to the max.  It’s synced with my Google calendar.  That’s important because if I’m on the phone making an appointment, I obviously can’t be looking at my iPhone calendar.  But, if I’m out and about I don’t want to be that person hauling out a laptop to make a dentist appointment.  It’s vital that they talk to each other.  I attempted to make a “family” Google calendar last year, but Craig has so much to keep track of at work, that checking one more calendar or attempting to easily differentiate which appointments he was “needed” for, proved to stress him out.  So, instead I do this:

calendar tabletop - mwn

In January 2013, I printed this calendar from iHeart Organizing and framed it up.  I bought a dry erase marker and never looked back.

calendar closeup - mwn

Every Saturday, I update it for the following week.  I include appointments, plans with friends, my work schedule, and dinner plans.  It’s super easy to change up each week and I love the happy, bright colors.

calendar quote - mwn

I love the quote at the top, too.  How true is that?  “He who gains time, gains everything.”  You can’t add hours to a day (darn it!), but there are things you can do in order to maximize your time.  Being organized certainly helps do that!

I hang the framed calendar in our kitchen where Craig and I walk by it multiple times a day.  Craig never has to ask what’s for dinner.  He never has to ask what our plans are.  Well, if I’m honest, he still does, but he wouldn’t have to. hahahaha

calendar kitchen - mwn

Another benefit of using this calendar is that it forces me to meal plan.  When I’m working, my hours are different every day.  I don’t love it.  But, it is what it is.  By meal planning and “posting” the menu and my hours, Craig knows when to expect me home and if there is anything he can do to help me with dinner.

There are other aspects of my organization tactics that don’t revolve around pile making, but perhaps I’ll save them for another day.

Show and Tell - Big List

What are some of your top organizing tips and tricks?

 

8 comments

    1. For the longest time I thought I only did it for me – until one week I forgot and Craig asked me about it! Having Eddie now, it’s also nice because it’s a good reminder to Craig for the days he has to get home on time to watch the baby if I have an appointment or something. 🙂

      Like

  1. I am just now discovering meal plans. I also showed mine in my post. They are great for efficient grocery shopping and eliminating food waste! What do you do to meal plan? Any tricks?

    Like

    1. Hi Maren! I just plan for dinners 4 nights each week. With there being just two of us that eat, I always have enough for lunch leftovers the next day. My meal preferences differ greatly from my husband’s, so I’m sure to always ask him for a couple ideas so that we both can have meals that we enjoy. We eat different diets, too (for example he will not touch quinoa and would rather have pasta) – so I try to find things that are easy to sub ingredients. Last night I made fajitas and he ate his with tortillas and all the fixin’s, while I enjoyed mine over spiralized sweet potato noodles to keep it “clean.” I think creativity is key 🙂

      Like

  2. That is such a clever idea!! I use my phone calendar a ton, but sometimes I just have to “see” it right in front of me. More importantly though- Craig eats quinoa?!?! That doesn’t sound like him at all. 🙂

    Like

    1. Bahahaha – NO he does not! On those nights he either has pasta as a sub or chooses to completely make himself a different dinner. He hates ki-no-a (as he calls it). Too funny that you caught that!

      Like

Thoughts?

