The Challenge: What I’ve Been Eating

Week two of my Advocare Challenge is done.  I’m through the cleanse phase and let me tell you, I really think I needed it.  I’ve been feeling so much better!  I’m down a couple inches and a few pounds.  I am hoping to get the all-clear from my doc this week to start exercising.  Truth be told, I haven’t done much of anything.  I had hoped to get out walking, but between frigid temps and icy conditions I decided it wasn’t a good idea considering I’d have to haul the babe along.  But, it was almost 40 yesterday so I was able to get out with the dogs and the kiddo.  Good stuff.

First (and perhaps most importantly), can we take a moment to recognize the fact I have not yet resorted to eating peanut butter out of the jar?  During my first challenge, I was craving sugar and sweets so bad that I was eating peanut butter, by the spoonful, straight out of the jar.

Secondly, I don’t know if these are totally, 100% clean dishes.  I gathered recipes and suggestions from a couple different blogs and I haven’t bothered to determine if when something is considered “Advocare friendly,” if it’s actually “Challenge friendly.”  Meh, I figure that regardless, it’s still an improvement over what I had been ingesting.

On Friday, I mentioned Trader Joe’s Red Quinoa.  I’ve eaten it at majority of my meals.  It’s a super easy way to fill my tummy and you can eat it with just about anything.

quinoa

Left to right:
Advocare Runner has talked about Trader Joe’s Chili Lime Turkey Burgers.  Perhaps not 100% clean (?), but they aren’t bad at all.  And they’re SO easy to prepare.  And SO flavorful.  Served with quinoa and avocado dressing and you have yourself a winner.

I recently purchased a spiralizer and it’s amazing.  Seriously.  I sauteed some zucchini noodles up with garlic, salt, and pepper in coconut oil – yum.  Served it with quinoa and squeeze a lemon segment over it.  Perfect.

That last photo is what I call mush (appealing, right): quinoa, steamed broccoli & cauliflower, chicken, and avocado dressing.  Mix ‘er up and you have a tasty meal!

///

Another thing that’s made it to my plate quite frequently is Adovcare Runner’s Advocare-friendly Texas caviar.  My mom makes a version of this, so I knew I’d enjoy it.  The substitutions weren’t anything drastic and truthfully, I can’t tell the difference between my mom’s version and this.  I question of this is truthfully “Challenge-friendly,” because the main ingredient is black beans and black-eyed peas.  Well, while completing the challenge you’re supposed to eat legumes in moderation.  Meh.  Technicalities, right?  Anyway, this was a super easy way to add great flavor to my dishes.

sweet potato

Left to right:
A little bit of an indulgence, I made eggs benedict one night with sweet potatoes and chipotle hollandaise.  It was the first time I’ve ever attempted to poach an egg.  I’m happy to report it was successful!

On my last Trader Joe’s run, I also found Mahi Mahi burgers.  Has, like, 3 ingredients – and again, maybe not totally clean, but it had only like 3 ingredients.  Served it up with quinoa and Texas caviar.

One of my solutions to my sweet tooth was spiralizing a sweet potato, tossing it with a bit of stevia and cinnamon and roasting it in the oven.  Delish!

///

I also picked up some rice cakes, natural peanut butter (only ingredient being peanuts! No sugar!), apples, PB2, blueberries, grapes, broccoli & cauliflower steamer bags, Lara Bars, and dried fruit.

One night this week I was desperately wanting chocolate.  After searching the interwebs I learned that I could mix one of the Advocare Chocolate Meal Replacement Shakes with 1/4 cup of water, microwave it for 90 seconds and end up with a “cake.”  I topped it with a serving of PB2.  Was it the best cake ever?  No.  Did it satisfy my craving?  You betcha.

Next week, I have some more variety being added.  Meaning, I won’t be ingesting quinoa every day.  Ha.  Don’t give me wrong, I honestly really like quinoa, but I need to change it up.  I’m seeing a lot of spiralized zucchini and sweet potatoes being incorporated into my meals next week!

Do you have any favorite spiralized meals?

2 comments

Thoughts?

