Five on Friday [january]

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve linked up with these lovely ladies.  I promise that my five aren’t all baby related.  Though, that’s a teensy bit difficult since my days revolve around le bebe.  But, I promise, you will get through this post with only 2/5 being baby-related and I didn’t even include a baby photo.  For those of you feeling overwhelmed with my newfound obsession, you’re welcome.  For those of you looking for a baby photo, no fear, you’ll be provided one at sometime in the near future, I don’t doubt that!

FiveonFridayIf you want in on the fun, join Darci, April, Natasha, and Christina each Friday.

.o.n.e.

These 20 Dogs Who Unapologetically Delight in Being Jerks made my entire week.

.t.w.o.
1989
It happened.  I finally broke down and bought T-Swift’s latest album.  I knew it was time when I was trolling my satellite radio presets every time I got into the car, hoping to find “Blank Space.”  I picked it up on a solo trip to Target and I can tell you I felt a little lighter after cranking the volume and jamming on the way home.

.t.h.r.e.e.
Instagram

Guilty. I check my Instagram all day long.  It’s by far my favorite social media medium and since Eddie has arrived you’d think my entire life was consumed by the little 12 pound nugget.  …oh wait, it is.  So, I guess (??) I’m sorry for inundating you with all of the photos of my adorable child.  And while they all probably look the same to you – in my opinion, he has a distinct expression in each of them.  “Look at my cute baby half smiling.”  “Look at my cute baby fully smiling.”  “Look at my baby crying.” “Pooping.” “Fussing.”  etc, etc.

I get it, not everyone is as smitten with Edison as I am.  So, thanks for humoring me.

.f.o.u.r.
bringing up bebe

One more baby related thing for today: this book.  My sister gifted it to me at my baby shower in October.  I loved it when I read it and I have even referenced it a couple times since Eddie has arrived.  I don’t necessarily agree with everything Pamela talks about, but there was quite a bit I wanted to remember.  Perhaps the most interesting idea was “the pause.”  I think this would be a great idea to gift someone that’s expecting.  Because even if they already have kids, it will definitely bring a different perspective – and either reinforce what they already believe or challenge (possibly change?) other thoughts.

.f.i.v.e.
red quinoa
YUM!  I prepared some of this good stuff last Sunday in preparation for my makeshift Advocare challenge.  It’s served as the base for majority of my meals this week.  I made it with chicken broth rather than water to give it some extra flavor.  It’s filling and super flexible.  I’ve eaten it with chicken burgers, mahi mahi, chicken & broccoli, etc.

///

Can I say that it was legitimately difficult to find 3 nonbaby related items?  I mean, without sounding like my life is pitiful.  I could’ve gone on and on about the HGTV or food Network marathons I watch all day long.  Or all the baby gadgets we’ve tried that have or haven’t worked.  Or the distress I feel when I have to clean bottles (there’s seriously no good way to do it, even our dishwasher complicates it by flipping the bottles and filling them with dirty water).  But, I put on my big girls pants, dug real deep and found a few items I thought could appeal to the larger audience.  How’d I do? 😉

One comment

Thoughts?

