He’s here!

On Friday, December 5th, we welcomed our sweet little boy, Edison (“Eddie”).

9 lbs 5 oz
20.5″ long
11:47 pm
22 1/2 hours of labor

After a few hiccups, we were discharged Monday night.  We are all doing super well!

The pups aren’t sure what to make of their new brother, but they’ve reacted really positively.  Before Eddie’s arrival, we were a little concerned about how Rudy would react.  Turns out, our worries were unfounded.  Instead, Rudy has clearly claimed Eddie as “his” baby.  He is so protective of him and gets after Myles a bit when he gets too close.  It’s something for us to work on (we can’t have the pups fighting!), but it was pretty shocking how quickly Rudy took to him.  Eddie has been super tolerant of his “big brothers” sniffing and nosing him (all very closely supervised of course).  I think there are some pretty special friendships in the making.

Rudy literally will not take his eyes of of Eddie.

Rudy will not take his eyes of of Eddie.  Literally.

I still haven’t decided what I will share of our little boy in this space.  My pregnancy and such was about me, so I felt comfortable sharing it.  Eddie doesn’t get much of a say at this point and Craig & I haven’t had a conversation about it.  The internet can be a scary place – and I want to make sure that I’m respecting my husband’s wishes (I truthfully don’t know what they are at this point) and also respecting the individual that Eddie is.  Living in such a virtual age is a tricky, tricky thing, isn’t it?

Anyway, this space will be a bit quiet in the coming weeks as I adjust to being a mama and learning about Eddie.  My postpartum hormones are in full force and while I spend majority of my time smiling and laughing, with my heart bursting with joy – a few moments unexpectedly bring tears.  Tears of utter amazement (“We made this!”), of disbelief (“I’m a mom.  Is this real life!?” or “I had no idea what a love like this could be.”), sadness (“He’s already 5 days old.” or “He’s changing so much, stop growing up!”), etc.  Like I said, postpartum hormones.  No joke.

I’ll probably share Eddie’s birth story at some point.  Let’s just say that while I knew I couldn’t predict how it would go, it was a crazier ride than I thought imaginable.  He was worth every moment.  And my husband has yet again proven himself to be the most incredible man (and dad!).  I’m a lucky lady.

In the meantime, here are the bump pictures I have documented.  Man, look at how much my belly grew in the last few weeks!!

Enjoy!

Through the weeks…

15 / 16 / 19

15 16 19 - mwn20 / 21 / 22

20 21 22 - mwn

23 / 24 / 25

23 24 25 - mwn

26 / 27 / 28

26 27 28 - mwn

29 / 30 / 31

29 30 31 - mwn

32 / 33 / 34

32 33 34 - mwn

35 / 36 / 37

35 36 37 - mwn

38 / 39

38 39 - mwn

 

 

One comment

Thoughts?

