39 weeks

Today is my first day of maternity leave.  …if only I had something to be maternal to.  Does dropping the pups off for some grooming count?  As a mama I have to make sure they are clean and happy!

Yesterday, at my 39 week appointment, my doctor stripped my membranes.  It sounds worse than it is.  Uncomfortable, sure, but we’re hoping it gets things moving, considering that when I was there at 37 weeks she sounded so confident I’d progress quickly on my own.  My ankles, feet, and lower abdomen are more than ready for some relief.  And I’m ready to hold and love on my little boy!

39 weeks - mwnhow far along | 39 weeks. oh em gee.

what’s happening with bumpster | He’s as heavy as a mini watermelon or a small pumpkin.  And man, I can feel the extra weight, fo sho.

sleep | Meh, as good as could be expected I suppose.  I’m waking up with back pain, headaches and nausea.  I’m guessing the back pain and headaches is attributed to my inability to find an acceptable position to sleep in.

best moment this week | The doctor decided to set an induction date at 40 weeks, 6 days – December 16th.  I’m really hoping it doesn’t come to that, but I do like knowing there is an end in sight.  I will not be pregnant for 2 more, full weeks!  The main reasoning behind that is that my blood pressure has gotten a little erratic.  More on that below!

miss anything | Sleeping well, eating what I want, not having to heave myself off of the couch, tying my own shoes…you know, the little things in life.

movement | Lots of rolling movement.  I don’t think he has the room to kick, it feels more like stretching.  Doctor estimated he’s about 8 lbs right now.  Yep, turns out our average-sized baby will likely be more on the “big baby” spectrum.

food cravings | I’ve enjoyed a few tomato sandwiches this week.  YUM!

anything making you queasy or sick | I made tilapia last night and it tasted like a lake to me.  Craig thought it was really tasty, I couldn’t eat my whole piece.  Ick.

pregnancy/labor symptoms | A few contractions since the doctor stripped my membranes, but nothing consistent.  I’m about 2 cm and 70% right now, so while there hasn’t been a ton of progress, there has been some!

wedding rings on or off | On – with the exception of Friday – more on that below!

looking forward to | His arrival.  It’s a relief knowing that in 2 weeks he will be here, regardless of what plans he has for himself!

One last notable from the last week – I got to spend Black Friday in the hospital.  Thanks, baby.  I woke up Friday morning for work and felt awful.  Nauseous, headache, and my fingers were sausages (I couldn’t get my ring past my first knuckle).  I’ve been a little paranoid about preeclampsia simply because of the severe swelling I’ve had in my feet and legs.  I called triage weeks ago when the swelling first started and she wasn’t worried, simply told me to stop the next day at Walgreen’s to have my blood pressure checked.  So, I took that advice this time around, too.  I figured I’d stop off before work and have my blood pressure checked before I called the doctor.  Welp – it was high.  Like, real high.  The girl even took is 3 times.  And every time it was higher.

When I called the clinic, they told me to come in, so they could check it manually.  Guess what?  It was even higher than it had been at Walgreen’s.  They had me hang out for a bit and they took it a second time – it was down a little bit, but still high enough for them to send me to Labor and Delivery at the hospital to be monitored.

Craig was off of work, so I went home to get him and we headed to the hospital.  We spent the day watching basketball, dozing, and being checked on.  Thankfully, my blood pressure came back down and we were sent home.  I’m thankful my body stopped freaking the eff out, but sad that I didn’t get to leave with a baby in my arms!

Fingers crossed he comes in the next week!  I don’t want to be an overdue mama!

3 comments

  1. ahh! you must be so ready to meet the little guy! i can only imagine how you’re feeling right now. i’ve got my fingers crossed for you that labor goes as smoothly as possible 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Carrie! Excited doesn’t even begin to describe it 🙂 Hope you’re doing well – I enjoy keeping up with your blog/instagram. I was quite envious of all those sunny, warm photos you shared!

      Like

Thoughts?

