Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

Six more days of work…6 more days of work.  My mantra.  Six more days given he doesn’t decide to make an early appearance, anyway.  I worked my last Saturday (it was insane) and spent the rest of my weekend being lazy.  I still managed to get some laundry done and other weekly chores, but mostly, Craig and I just enjoyed snuggles – from each other and the pups.

I’m really excited for this week – we have a lot going on, so hopefully it will go fast.  Between doctor’s appointments and Thanksgiving – we really don’t have a “normal” day ahead of us in the next 5 days.

I’ve been sharing a lot of recipes lately – I hope you don’t mind!  I wanted to get this one out there before Turkey Day, because I think it would be an awesome addition to any menu. I love this salad because there is some substance to it and will keep you full unlike some salads!

I got this recipe from a coworker I worked with at another financial.  She brought it for a potluck and it was a huge hit.  I recently brought it to pass at dinner with friends and it got a similar response.  Not difficult to throw together and super yummy!

winter fruit salad - mwn

Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c lemon juice
2 tsp diced onion
1 tsp dijon-style mustard
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 c oil
1 Tbs poppy seeds

In blender, combine sugar, lemon juice, onion, mustard, and salt.  process until well blended.

With machine still running, slowly add oil until mixture is thick and smooth.

Add poppy seeds and process just a few second more to mix.

Refrigerate until salad is served.

Winter Fruit Salad
2 bags romaine lettuce
4 oz swiss cheese, shredded
1 c cashews
1/4 c dried cranberries
1 apple, diced
1 pear, peeled and sliced

In large serving bowl, toss together the lettuce, cheese, cashews, cranberries, apple, and pear.

Pour dressing over salad just before serving.  Toss to coat.

///

I’ll be back tomorrow sharing some his and her stocking stuffers – linking up with A Few of My Favorite Things!

Thoughts?

