Choc-Zucchini Cake

Yesterday was a much needed day off from work.  I’m not counting the days until I’m on maternity leave – I’m counting the minutes.  Perhaps the seconds.  My days have been dragging by.

The dogs spent most of the day mad at me, though.  It was the annual trip to the vet and they both had to get some shots.  I tried to make up for it with extra snuggles, but they weren’t having it.  I wonder if that’s what it will feel like when our little boy gets “too old” for snuggles from his mama.  Oh, the unexpected things your pups can teach you!

This recipe, like “my” French Dressing, comes courtesy of an ex-boyfriend’s mother.  Different ex, though.  I have a couple exes that came before my handsome hubby, but goldarnit, something good came of each of them – even if it was just a delicious recipe. 😉

choc zucc cake - mwn

Choc-Zucchini Cake
1/2 c vegetable oil
1/2 c sour cream
2 eggs
1/2 c butter, softened
2 c peeled, shredded zucchini
2 1/2 c flour
1 3/4 c sugar
1/2 c baking cocoa
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c chocolate chips
1/2 c chopped walnuts*

Preheat oven to 350 and grease 8 c bundt pan.

Mix together oil, sour cream, eggs, butter, and zucchini.

In separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients (flour through salt) and optional walnuts.  Add dry ingredients to zucchini mixture and mix well.

Place 1/2 of the batter into bundt pan.  Layer chips and add remaining batter.

Bake 40-45 minutes.

*I chose to marry a man with a disdain for nuts in his baked food, so I omit them (unless I’m feeling a little feisty).

///

Hope you all have a great weekend – I’ll be here, soaking up what could be our last weekend as a family of four.  #thanksgivingbaby

Thoughts?

