Homemade Applesauce [crockpot]

Well, hello.  I missed you all on Friday.  Truth be told, I had planned to participate in the Five on Friday linkup that I so love, but I didn’t have much energy to put anything together for it.  I have it half finished, so maybe that will be on the docket for this Friday!

It was a great weekend for us – Saturday we went to a breastfeeding class.  Craig wasn’t overly excited about attending, but he wasn’t the only partner present.  We learned a lot and Craig, especially, is now convinced that breast milk is the most precious commodity there is.  I think he left with his mind blown.  He also left with the understanding that it can be a super hard thing to do, so I anticipate that he will continue to be the great support system he has been throughout my pregnancy.

Craig had free tickets to the Badger and Packer game.  Both were pretty big games.  WELL, the baby doesn’t fit into my winter jacket and I’ve had some wicked sciatic nerve pain.  Metal bleachers and cold weather did not sound appealing.  He decided to forgo the Badger game (too bad, it was a record-setting game!).  But, I suggested he ask his sister to the Packer game.  So, I enjoyed my Sunday preparing blog posts and doing laundry, while he headed north for some quality time with his sister.  It was great!

Now that we’ve caught up – onto why were are here today!  Easy-peasy applesauce!

Woof.  How’s that for an awful picture.  “Falling back” has made it increasingly difficult for me and my amateur photography skills.  My yellow bowl is literally glowing.  Ha.  Oh well!

homemade applesauce - mwn

Homemade Applesauce [crockpot]
8-10 apples, peeled & cored
1/2 c brown sugar
1 – 2 Tbs cinnamon
1/2 – 1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 – 1 tsp nutmeg

Leaving apples in large chunks, place into slow cooker with sugar, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.  Mix to coat apples.  Cook on high for 5 hours.  Use potato masher or fork to desired consistency.

My recommendation is to start with 1 Tbs cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg.  You can always add more for your taste, but you can’t take it back out!

///

I’ll be back tomorrow for a Tuesday post!  Unusual, I know, but when there is a fun Tuesday linkup, you can’t say no!

Thoughts?

