Sloppy Joes [crockpot]

Happy Halloween, everyone!  I’m looking forward to seeing adorable babies you all are dressing up! 

When I was in college, for my 20th birthday, the only thing I wanted from my boyfriend was the cookbook, “Fix It and Forget It.”  Old soul?  I think, yes.  Thankfully, he delivered and I’ve enjoyed a number of recipes over the past 7 1/2 years.

I have a ton of recipes ear-marked to try, even all these years later.  Some have been total flops.  Ick.  But, others have become staples in our monthly menu.  This Sloppy Joe recipe is one that comes up about every two weeks.  It’s quick to prep the night before and delicious.

crock pot sloppy joes - mwn

Sloppy Joes [from Fix It and Forget It]
1 lb ground beef
1 onion, chopped
3/4 c ketchup
2 Tbs chili sauce
1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbs yellow mustard
1 Tbs vinegar
1 Tbs sugar
buns

Brown beef and onion.  Drain.

Combine all ingredients in the crock pot.

Cover and cook on low 4-5 hours.

Serve on buns.

///

I cook the beef the night prior and get everything mixed together into the crock pot.  I stick the whole darn pot into the fridge – and in the morning it takes me 20 seconds to pull it from the fridge, into the heating element, and head out the door.

I’m a weekly meal planner and I plan for this meal on nights I know I have appointments, am working late, or have other plans.  Then I don’t have to “worry” about Craig getting dinner – he can come home and serve himself up a sandwich.

You’ll see that is says to cook it 4-5 hours on low.  I’ve had no problems letting it cook all day long.  If Craig happens to come home for lunch, I’ll ask him to give it a stir, but otherwise it just sits on low for 8 or 9 hours.  I just make sure the first thing I do when I get home is turn the crock pot to warm.  It gets a little “crispy” around the edges, but with a good mix, you wouldn’t know the difference.

I have tried making it without browning the beef – and it cooked up just fine, but the texture was a little bit different.  I didn’t mind it, Craig would rather have me brown up the beef beforehand.  Anything to keep him happy! 😉

I’ve had a number of different sloppy joe recipes over the years and this one remains at the top of my list.  Enjoy!

Thoughts?

