Creamy Chicken Taco Soup [crockpot]

I made it to Friday!  Though there were moments I doubted this day would come, we are here.  And, the next time I step foot into the branch, boss-man will be back and all will be right in the world.

Weeks like this make me thankful that I have a stash of crockpot recipes to turn to.  Dinners were easy this week because there was minimal cooking.  Instead, there was lots of crockpot usage!

Here’s a crockpot recipe that is no question in my top five favorite recipes ever.  Yes, ever.

I’ve mentioned Kaitlyn before and her blog Wifessionals.  I’ve also mentioned that she doesn’t actively blog anymore, but you can keep up with on Instagram which is equally as fun.  Anyway, she is the source of this great recipe.  It’s so delicious and makes for great leftovers.

creamy chicken taco soup - mwn

Crock Pot Creamy Chicken Taco Soup
2 chicken breasts
1 1/2 c frozen corn
14 1/2 oz diced canned tomatoes (undrained)
1 can cannellini beans (undrained)
1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
1 c chicken broth
1 package taco seasoning
1 tsp minced garlic
1 dash cayenne pepper
8 oz cream cheese
1 Tbs cornstarch

Place chicken breasts in crock pot.

Pour in tomatoes, cannellini beans, rinsed black beans, chicken broth, taco seasoning, garlic, and cayenne.  Stir, leaving chicken at the bottom of the crock pot.

Place cream cheese on top and cover.

Cook on high 3-4 hours or low 5-6 hours.

One hour prior to serving, shred chicken.  Stir to mix in shredded chicken and melted cream cheese.

Mix cornstarch with 2 Tbs of water.  Add to the soup and stir well.

Cover and let cook for an additional hour.

*Kaitlyn also uses frozen onions.  For my husband’s sanity, I omitted them.

///

With the days getting shorter, getting decent pictures of our yummy dinners is getting harder and harder.  Sad panda.  I keep saying I need to learn my new camera and editing software…and I will.  Project number one is going to be the pups annual Halloween costumes – stay tuned!

Hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

3 comments

Thoughts?

