Rotisserie-Style Chicken [crockpot]

I’m back again with my crock pot and another amazing recipe.  I take zero credit for this goodness, but dang I wish I could.  I love rotisserie chicken, but the last one we purchased made Craig sick.  Or so he says.  We don’t know it was the chicken (I did not get sick), but he won’t buy another one at the store.

Since I’m such a crock pot fiend, I began the search for a substitute.  And I found one quite a few!  After looking at recipes like this, this and this, I ultimately threw together what you see below.  And my word, it’s delicious.  Juicy.  Crispy.  And perhaps most importantly (for this working gal) easy!

Crock Pot Rotisserie Style Chicken - mwn

Crock Pot Rotisserie-Style Chicken
1 whole chicken – I purchase one without the neck or giblets #ew
1/3 c olive oil
2 Tbs salt
2 Tbs Italian seasoning
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp garlic powder

aluminum foil

Place 4-6 balls of aluminum foil in the bottom of your crock pot.

Combine salt, Italian seasoning, pepper, and garlic powder in bowl.

Rinse chicken and pat dry.

Give chicken a rub down with olive oil – poor little fella deserves one last massage.

Liberally rub spice mixture over chicken.

Place chicken on top of aluminum foil and cook on low for 8 hours.

Optional: After 8 hours, place crock (without lid!) under broiler for 5 minutes to crisp skin.

///

crock pot

A few thoughts:

Pleeease rinse your chicken.  I’ve seen people skip this part and it totally grosses me out.  Ack.

I’ve made the chicken with the optional broiling and I’ve made it without.  If you have the time, broil it.  If not, it’s still equally as delicious, but the texture of a crispy outer adds just that little extra yummy.

Side note: I have plans (when the weather gets frigid again) to up my photography game.

 

Thoughts?

