Banana Bread

I didn’t know people had such strong opinions about pumpkin until Starbucks decided to officially release their Pumpkin Spice Latte in August.  Holy cats.  You’d think they threatened the life of your new puppy.  I, for one, love pumpkin all year ’round.  Fall or not, serve me up!  And yes, I had 3 Pumpkin Spice Lattes before the month of August ended.  #sosueme

That being said, holiday creep used to really bother me.  I hated seeing Christmas stuff in October or Valentine’s Day in December.  But, now?  I saw some Christmas decorations at Costco last week and it got me so excited!  Probably because by the time Christmas rolls around our mini mister will be here.

Banana bread is the perfect pre-fall baking project.  I mean, there is no pumpkin to get pissy about, but it still screams “fall” to me.  I found this recipe at How Sweet It Is – I’ve shared Jessica’s recipes before.  She is my most favorite foodie blogger ever.  She has a real knack for combining some unusual flavors into something absolutely mind-blowing, but she also has some more “traditional” recipes like this banana bread.

I married a man who doesn’t like nuts in his breads or on his brownies – I think it’s so strange.  But, when chocolate is an acceptable substitute, who am I to argue?  And that’s what initially drew me to this recipe – there were no nuts – instead, there was chocolate.  I get a fall recipe, Craig doesn’t have to eat nuts.  Everybody wins.

Banana Bread - Our Midwest Nest blog

Best Banana Bread
1/2 c butter, softened
3 oz cream cheese, softened
1 c brown sugar
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1 egg
1/4 c sour cream
1 1/2 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease loaf pan.

Cream butter, cream cheese, and brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Add in mashed bananas, egg, and sour cream.

In separate bown combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Add dry ingredients to banana mixture and mix well.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Bake 55-60 minutes.

///

Banana Bread - mwn blog

I easily doubled this recipe so that I could take a loaf to share with my grandma.  My grandma and my great aunt always have the best compliments about my baking, so when I need a confidence booster, I make sure to take a special treat along with me on my visits to them. 😉

I had bought bananas to help with the calf cramps I’ve been getting – dang pregnancy.  Of course, I don’t care for actual bananas, so they didn’t get eaten before they were black brown.  They were organic, so they were a little bit smaller than “regular” bananas.  For that reason, I used 5 bananas, instead of 4.  Plus, I like a little extra banana flavor!

Riddle me this – I love banana-flavored things, but don’t care for bananas themselves.  I’m not a texture eater at all – textures don’t bother me one bit.  But, in this case, dare I say, I think my hatred of bananas stem from the texture?  They’re either too hard or to soft.  Yuck.

But, in bread?  Bananas are quite dreamy.

 

One comment

Thoughts?

