Chicken Fajitas [crockpot]

I’m a huge fan of using my crock pot year-round.  In the summer, you can create a delicious meal without heating up your home.  In the winter, there are so many hearty meals you can create simply by dumping a variety of cans, spices, and meats into the crock.

Today, I’m sharing one of my favorites. I originally made this recipe in March 2013 for a birthday get-together.  I knew it was a good one when Kim asked me for the recipe and reported back that it was a hit with her parents, too.

I love Mexican food all the time, but I’ve especially loved it over the past 6 months.  If I’ve had a craving for any type of food, I’d say it was Mexican (and Jimmy Johns – though, I’m sure you’re well aware, since I’ve mentioned it every flipping week).  Unfortunately, we have yet to find a good restaurant since moving back.  We’ve given up for a few months – after striking out at 3 different places, we needed a break.  For that reason, I’ve needed to rely on myself to satisfy that craving.  Usually, I’ll just throw together some tacos, but with the humidity that we had the end of August, I wasn’t going to willingly stand in front of the stove for any period of time.  Enter: the crock pot!  I was really surprised when I realized that I hadn’t shared this recipe here.

It isn’t a very “pretty” recipe, but I promise, it’s delicious.

crock pot chicken fajitas - our midwest nest blog

Crock Pot Chicken Fajitas
1 lb chicken breasts
16 oz can kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
14 oz diced tomatoes with jalapenos or green chilies
2 bell peppers (pick your favorite colors), julienned
1 onion, julienned
2 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp chili powder
1 garlic clove
1/4 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in slow cooker.  Cover and cook on low 5-6 hours, or until chicken is tender.
Remove chicken, shred, and return to crock pot.

Use tongs to remove servings.  Garnish as desired.

///

My favorite color bell peppers are yellow and orange!  No doubt.  If it’s possible, on day that I’m not working, I’ll add the bell pepper and onions about 4 hours into the cooking.  They stay a little bit crispier that way.  Obviously, if it’s a day I’m working, it all goes in at once.  It’s delicious either way, I suppose it just depends on your preference.

The reason I recommend using tongs to remove servings into tortillas is because you’ll notice that there is quite a bit of residual liquid.  I don’t like my tortilla to get soggy and I don’t enjoy making a big mess when I eat, so tongs is the way to go!  Fo sho.

I can’t have fajitas without cheese and sour cream.  Maybe a few jalapenos, too.  Add what you like!

Enjoy!

 

One comment

Thoughts?

