Shopping for Baby: Ikea

I had been looking forward to our Ikea adventure for weeks.  No, really – for weeks.  It meant a  week-day away from work, an opportunity to eat some Chick-fil-a (yeyahhh), and the first “big” purchases for bumpster.  You’d think that feeling the little guys squirming around during the day would make it real.  But, truth be told, I’m still not convinced that it isn’t just gas. Ha.  However, walking into the spare bedroom and seeing it fill up with baby furniture – that makes it real.  So real.  And exciting.  So exciting.

Before we headed to the store, I had what I wanted all picked out.  Craig was there for the muscle.  This mama wasn’t about to start lifting big boxes onto a cart or into a trunk.  No sir-ee.  Craig had never been to an Ikea before and I knew that if I didn’t have anything picked out – we would be there twice as long as we needed to be.  And that would’ve been fine, except I had scheduled Craig a massage and we had to get back to town for him to make that appointment. (I know – wife of the year award, right here!)  And finally, Craig doesn’t really care what furniture the baby has.  He just wants me to tell him what to build and where – and what color paint to put on the walls.  I love my easy-going husband!

The minute we walked in the door, Craig commented that he smelled something delicious.  Because he had never been there, he didn’t know they had a cafe.  He mentioned the smells it no fewer than 4 times on our ride to the 3rd floor – so I finally asked him if he wanted a cinnamon roll.  Obviously, he said yes.  So, obviously I obliged.  He needed the sugar to energize him for all of the heavy lifting that was about to ensue!

cinnamon roll - mwn

Here’s what we came home with.  And yes, you better believe there will be some nursery pictures.  When If it ever gets done.  Because let’s be real – the room is still half full of clothes, shoes, and other things that I couldn’t cram into the closet in our bedroom.  Yes, I have a shoe problem.  And a jeans problem.  And no, I don’t know where it’s all going to go.  Yet.

ikea blames high chair - mwnI. love. this. high. chair.  It looks like a real piece of furniture, doesn’t it?  I can’t say I am a fan of the plastic ones with all of the patterns.  I first saw this high chair on a blog that I follow and fell in love with it.  You can see more about this high chair here.

hemnes - mwnI actually wanted this piece of furniture for our own bedroom.  Except we didn’t have any plans at the time to make the trip to Chicago.  I love the clean lines and unique color.  The color in real-life is a bit different than you see here – it isn’t as brown.  It’s awesome, though.  We haven’t put it together yet – I’ve heard it’s a little bit of a beast, but it otherwise has great reviews.  You can see more here.

poang - mwnThe price of gliders took my breath away.  You’re talkin’ $400+ for one of those things!  And honestly, where else can you put it once the baby grows up?  Everyone knows it’s a glider!  We decided on this chair, based on a recommendation that came from a fellow blogger, Kaitlyn.  Gliders can pinch fingers and that made me a little paranoid (yikes, the paranoia is already setting in)!  This leans back far enough and moves enough to rock a baby.  We also got a matching ottoman.  OH and – it was less than a quarter of the price.  WIN!  See it here.

ikea bekvam - mwnSpice racks!  I know what you’re thinking – what in the world!?  But, thanks to trusty Pinterest, I’ve learned how these bad boys are easily repurposed into some awesome book shelves.  I have plans to paint them white and attach them to the wall to look something like this:

ikea bookshelf hack

||source||

We also came home with a few stuffies, a play mat, crib, mattress, artwork, and a floor lamp for our living room.  I won’t bore you with it all.  Not a bad start to the bumpster’s space, if I do say so myself!

Ikea Collage - mwn

And while I had my doubts, it all fit into Craig’s car!

Stay tuned for additions as the come!  …and I wouldn’t be surprised if there ends up being a story that comes of our attempt at putting together that dresser together – wish us luck.

6 comments

  1. I LOVE IT ALL! I can’t wait to see how you decorate Baby M’s nursery – I’m sure it’s going to be amazing!

    Also – Jason has the chair you bought instead of a glider and it is COMFY!

    Like

Thoughts?

