The Day Care Search

If I was the only one in my marriage (thankfully, I’m not!) there would be no question what would happen after the bumpster joins us in December.  But, since I have Craig’s wishes and opinions to take into consideration, we still aren’t sure what will happen once baby boy is born.

In my perfect world, I’d stay home and be a full time mama.  But, I understand we have a mortgage, puppy mouths to feed, health insurance, a potential car payment, not to mention a brand new babe.  We’ve grown accustomed to a certain lifestyle and that would undoubtedly change if I gave up my income.  But, I, for one, am willing to sacrifice what’s needed to sacrifice in order to make it work.  Craig is too, don’t give me wrong, but I also have to recognize that it puts a lot of pressure on Craig, should he become the only income.  And it’s pressure I don’t think he is very excited about.  I understand that.  I understand all of the implications; they just don’t change my mind.

I’m thankful to have married someone that is open to discussion.  And trust, there have been plenty of discussions about it.  Some heated, some not so heated.  Thus far, we’ve both made progress: I better understand the pressure Craig would  feel and the implications it would have financially and he better understands how much it means to me mentally and emotionally.

We are currently at a point where we have agreed to do what we can to best set us up for either situation.  So, that means saving like a son-of-a-gun (should I decide to stay home, we would have more cushion) and visiting some day cares (should we decide I need to go back to work).

daycare - mwn

I’ve been very particular about the day cares I will even consider and Craig has been respectful and hasn’t been pushy when I nix a place without even visiting.  My being particular also means that I’ve been willing to look at one place.  One.  And this one place?  Has inconvenient hours.  But, it came with a super high recommendation from a coworker I trust very much.

We had plans to stop into this said daycare yesterday, but after thinking about it, I decided to call ahead of time.  I mean, I don’t like it when people show up at my place of employment without an appointment, so I can’t be a hypocrite, right?  Well, while the woman I spoke with was okay with us stopping in, she suggested she send us some more detailed information (that isn’t on the website) so we can come prepared with all of the questions we have.  She was super friendly on the phone, which gives them a point in the plus column.

I, for one, was more than willing to put off the dreaded search!  So now, we wait.  And maybe find another couple to visit.  Maybe.  With my expectations, who knows!

Anyone have any advice on day care searches?
Insight on making a decision to stay home or return to work?

 

One comment

Thoughts?

