19 Weeks

For those of you completely uninterested in indulging me while I give an update now and then about our little bambino’s progress, I completely understand.  Depending on the blogger I either was really excited to read about an update or rolled my eyes and skipped over that post.  I don’t think I’ll inundate you every 7 days with one of these, but occasionally.  Does that sound ok?

19 weeks - mwnhow far along | 19-ish weeks

what’s happening with squirt | He’s now the size of an heirloom tomato.  That also marks one of the first weeks I’ve actually known what they are comparing my baby’s size to.  He can likely hear my voice now, so I really need to start cleaning up my language.  Yikes!  My mom also got me the cutest Dr. Seuss book that I can read to him to “familiarize” him with all of the stories that I’m sure he will hear on repeat someday!  On an unrelated note, his kidneys are also making urine.  Which is mostly weird to me.

total weight gain | Would you believe me if I said none.  Because for real, none.  I’ve had a couple days that I’ve weighed in about 2 pounds heavier at home, but the doc says nope – no weight gain.  We haven’t been heading to the gym, so I’m attributing it to muscle loss.  Because my belly is definitely growing and my legs definitely aren’t as solid as they were just a month or two ago!

maternity clothes | I’ve purchased two pairs of maternity shorts and one top.  I haven’t worn the top because right now it just makes me look like a whale.  I can wear my pre-pregnancy pants, so long as I have a hair tie – I can’t legit button them anymore.  I feel like a sausage stuffed into my pants so, I’ve been living in maxi dresses as much as humanly possible.  I also broke down a bought two nursing bras – so flipping comfortable, guys.  Worth every penny.  I also have a maternity suit to wear on our adventure in Texas next week.

stretch marks | None.  Yet.  I hear these things are genetic.  And in that case, I’m sure it’s only a matter of time.  Sad panda.

sleep | Like a rock.  I might be up once to use the restroom, but there are some nights that my exhaustion allows me to sleep right on through.  Despite sleeping so well, I’m always tired.  I thought that was supposed to go away in the second trimester!?  What gives!?

best moment this week | I’m so over having 4 weeks in between appointments.  Given my previous experience with this whole pregnancy gig, I get a little paranoid.  The best moment was the doctor’s appointment yesterday, where I got to hear his heartbeat and rest assured he’s still in there!  Because of where my placenta is, it’s unlikely I’ll feel his presence until later on – like 22 weeks! 

miss anything | Sushi.  What I wouldn’t give for a couple rolls of raw fish right now.

movement | Nada.  Dang placenta.

food cravings | Cravings have all but subsided.  In fact, I have the opposite problem.  Nothing sounds disgusting, but I’m just never hungry and for that reason nothing sounds good.

anything making you queasy or sick | Nah.  I was past that point by 12 weeks.  Thank goodness!

gender | All boy up in here! 

pregnancy/labor symptoms | I’ve had some cramping that’s new over the past week or so.  All sorts of weird feelings – no flutters, so I know it isn’t baby.  More like he’s in there with a dull knife or something.  It’s really quite lovely.

belly button in or out | In.  I hope I am in the minority in that my belly button never pops.  Gross.

wedding rings on or off | On!  And I’m thinking I’m going to have them un-solder them.  I’m sure my fingers will get a little chubby and I’d like to be able to at least keep my wedding band on for as long as possible!

looking forward to | Friday!  We are having our official anatomy scan.  We know gender because I had to have an extra ultrasound done at 16 weeks, given all of the fun issues I’ve had with my lady bits.  It was quite obvious even then we had a little boy on our hands!  But Friday will confirm that – as well as give measurements to ensure he’s growing right as he should.  I love being able to see him bouncing around in there!

 

I just wrote a novel, didn’t I?  I don’t think all weeks will be this long.  But, y’all had quite a bit to get filled in on for that first 19 weeks!  Thanks for hanging with me!

 

One comment

Thoughts?

