Birthday Cake

Whatta weekend!

Friday, there was a potluck at work with lots of yummy food.  But, the real highlight was the dinner Craig and I had at Hom. They source as much as they can from the local area and everything is made from scratch – everything from pasta, dressings, butter – you get the idea.

homWhen I saw monkfish on the menu, I thought I’d give it a try.  I’d never heard of it, much less tried it.  It was excellent.  As was the cauliflower au gratin Craig and I shared as a side.  I’m sad I didn’t get any pictures – but it wasn’t really type of place I felt comfortable snapping pictures of my plate.  If you live in Milwaukee area, I highly recommend giving it a try!

When Saturday rolled around my bestest of all friends, Kim, came to town for a movie/lunch/froyo date.  We saw Divergent.  And at the beginning of the movie I was worried about getting through it, but it finished strong!  And I found myself thinking about it and liking it more and more as I finished my day.  I wasn’t sure about the people chosen to play Tris and Four, but by the end I knew they were the right choices.  I highly recommend it – but if you haven’t read the books, you better do that, too!

And now for the real reason you’re here.

Confetti Cake - What The Efff blogOn Friday, we had a pot luck at work to celebrate three birthdays – my own and two coworkers. I volunteered immediately to bring cake. I saw this recipe on Cookies and Cups blog and in .0002 seconds decided it was destined to be my birthday cake.

Confetti Cake 1 - What The Efff blogI think what sold me was the struesel on top.  Or maybe that it was a funfetti cake.  Or maybe it was the toasted marshmallow buttercream frosting. Or the sprinkles?  Ah, hell, it was the whole kit ‘n kaboodle.

Confetti Streusel - What The Efff blogYou’re looking at a homemade funfetti cake, with toasted marshmallow buttercream filling, vanilla buttercream frosting, and shortbread streusel.  Everyone at worked loved it.  No, actually, they loved it.  I was already asked to bring it for another birthday and people happily took home tupperware containers of it.  Kim even took some home on Saturday.  The more cake living in this house this weekend was going to mean more cake in my belly.  And I certainly don’t need more cake in my belly.

Confetti - What The Efff blogI made the cake layers on Wednesday and refrigerated them until I made the frosting Thursday night.  It makes the cake so much easier to frost.  I’m sure plenty of you already knew that, but I had never tried it.  Moving forward, I will be sure to give myself a couple days when making a cake because it really made all the difference while frosting it.

You can find the original recipe here, at Cookies and Cups.

Did you see Divergent?  What did you think?
Any tips you have for preparing cakes?

6 comments

  1. That cake looks DIVINE!! *drooling*

    And monkfish. Google it. It’s the UUUUUUUUGLIEST fish you’ve EVAH seen! Delish, but FUUUUUUGLY!

    Oh and thought about you while reading my blog roll. One of them has a pattern for a crochet clutch. Let me know if you’re interested.

    Like

    1. OH MY GAWD. I just Googled that fish – wish I hadn’t! I probably wouldn’t have tried it if I had seen that beforehand! Holy crap. UGLY. Tasty though!

      I haven’t picked up a crochet hook since before Christmas! I need to start thinking about it! 🙂

      Like

Thoughts?

