Five For Friday v. 6

Howdy!  While I’m off playing cowgirl at my parents’ ranch in Texas, I thought it’d be fun to dedicate this weeks Five for Friday to just that – Texas!  My parents moved while I was finishing up my junior year of college, so I’ve made the trip quite a few times now.

Here are five of my most favorite things about Te-has.

one.
The ranch.  My parent’s live in the middle of flippin’ no where and at first, I didn’t love it.  Now?  I love it.  I’ve spent a few visits sleeping until lunch time, only getting up to lounge by the pool and read books to my hearts desire.  Their backyard is an oasis.  Love, love, love.  I also really enjoy jumping on a horse and getting my cowgirl fix in, too.  Books, pool, horses, quiet, and a mom that will feed me whatever I want?  Sounds like a perfect vacation destination to me!

Texas Backyard - What The Efff blogIMG_0168

two.
The music scene.  You guys.  Seriously.  So many great artists.  Such unique venues.  I’ve seen great shows at La Zona Rosa, The Nutty Brown, and Gruene Hall.  I’m the first to admit I love me some Lady Gaga and Justin Timberlake, but I also love seeing people like Ryan Bingham, Reckless Kelly, and Charlie Robison.  Fun fact: Gruene Hall is the oldest dance hall in Texas.

IMG_0072Ryan Bingham

three.
Johnson City Christmas Lights.  I had never seen anything like it before!  Who do you think sponsors these beautiful lights?  Yes, the electric company.  Whether we have been down there for Thanksgiving for Christmas, we always make the drive to see them.

IMG_3528IMG_0172

four.
San Antonio River Walk // The Alamo.  I haven’t overly enjoyed the shopping or the food I’ve had on the River Walk, but I did enjoy the boat tour quite a bit!  It’s just something really unique that was fun to do with the fam.  The Alamo is right “next door” and the history associated with that is pretty neat.

IMG_2246IMG_2247

five.
These guys.  Usually, the only time we can all be together is over the holidays when we visit mom and dad.  Now that I’m married and Kelsey has such an adventuresome spirit, it hasn’t happened recently.  But, having us all together is always pretty special, since it’s become so rare.

Proof-1044 Proof-1087family photos done by Parish Photography, San Antonio

bonus.
Cooper’s BBQ.  I always request a trip to this joint.  YUM!

COOPERS

FiveonFridayThanks to April, Christina, Darci,
and Natasha for hosting!

15 comments

    1. Texas has been the only southern state that I truly like. Other places are nice to visit, but I could definitely live here some day! I hope you can make it down here some time!

      Like

  1. Okay, so now I really want to go and visit Texas! I’ve never been, but it’s definitely on my list of travel destinations! I have no particular city in mind because I’ve heard great things about San Antonio, Austin, DFW… the list goes on. Enjoy your spring break!

    Like

    1. I’ve only spent a little bit of time in DFW – but both Austin and San Antonio are fantastic! There are so many neat little towns in the “hill country.” I hope you make the trip some time!!

      Like

    1. I’m sad because it hasn’t been quite warm enough to actually enjoy the pool this trip. Guess I’ll just have to come back sooner rather than later 😉

      Like

  2. *still jealous* And LOVE LOVE LOVE San Antonio!! That RIverwalk cruise is fab!! Done it twice. And the best memory was dinner at Dirty Dicks the night before a Tostitos Bowl game. ROWDY!!

    Sometimes, it’s really nice to unplug, unwind, and un-stress. 🙂 Have a blast!! Ya need it!

    Like

    1. OH I haven’t been to Dirty Dicks before! I’ll have to add it to the list 🙂

      The most stressful thing I’ve done thus far is shop…so I think it’s safe to say it’s been pretty darn relaxing!

      Like

    1. I lived about an hour from Nashville for a year – it’s certainly different from Texas! What area in Texas? My parents live in Austin/San Antonio area.

      Like

      1. I’m from south of Waco, so my parents are about 90 minutes north of Austin. I love Nashville, and there are a lot of similarities to Texas, but they’re different too 😉 I love it here, but I definitely miss home.

        Like

Thoughts?

