An Update on Max

Max layThanks for the love yesterday.  I opted to keep comments private and I have plans to respond to y’all when I get more time.  This week is busy, busy – commuting to Madison again.  That hasn’t gotten old yet {extreme sarcasm}. The only reason I have anything to post is because I buckled down this weekend to get things scheduled out!  Thank goodness I’m jumpin’ on a jet plane tomorrow night for a much needed break.  But, in the meantime, let’s talk about Max.

Quite some time ago, I introduced Max, the German Shepherd to you all.  I went to meet Max to determine if I thought he would be a good match for my friend Allie’s pack.  I fell in love with him and if he wasn’t such a big boy, I probably would’ve just brought him home with me.  With my glowing recommendation, Allie arranged for him to be transported to Colorado, where she lives.

Let me tell you, that was a lot of pressure for me!  What if he ended up being aggressive?  Or sketchy as hell?  Or she couldn’t teach him manners?  So many “worst case scenarios” went through my head.  Well, Max has been a mountain man for about a month now and I wanted to share with you all how he is doing.

In one word: FABULOUS.  It took him some time to get settled in, but now he is doing great.  He has made so many new doggie friends he doesn’t know what to do with himself.  Allie says that anyone that meets him, dog or person, instantly falls in love with him.  That isn’t hard for me to believe, because I instantly fell in love with him, too!

Max SammieHe’s been neutered now.  And he’s had quite the time with the cones and Kong Clouds.  Apparently he gets stuck all over the house with the cones.

Max cone stuckMax cloudShortly after finishing up a dewormer him and his new brother Sammie were diagnosed with whipworm (a parasite).  That made it hard to get some weight on the ‘ole chap, but they’re both feeling better and the weight is coming.

Max friendI’m so happy that I was able to help Max find a loving home.  Seriously, I couldn’t think of a better place for this guy to end up.

Max eyeesHave you adopted a pet?

2 comments

  1. Yay for Max!! I always thought that getting back down to just 2 dogs would probably make our life a little more comfortable, but I’d be lying if we hadn’t already hinted at the thought of at least fostering another dog. Memories of Marley are still so fresh, but it almost feels like the right thing to do by her. For now, I’m staying away from the shelter- because we know exactly how that will end up. But we’ll see what happens over the next couple of months. Hope you enjoy your break this week!

    Like

Thoughts?

