Quinoa & Veggies with Avocado Dressing

One of the very best parts of doing this Advocare 24 Day Challenge, is that it’s forcing me to take the time to try new things.  I hate spending a lot of time preparing a meal – especially at lunch time. I don’t know whyyy.  I love convenience.  And this challenge is showing me that there are plenty of ways to eat clean, healthy foods that are convenient.

One of my favorite blogs is Yes, I Want Cake.  Katie and her kids are just the cutest and her recipes are gems.  Most recently she posted Green Veggie Quiona Bowls (with Avocado Dressing!).  I easily got on board with the quiona and dressing, but the brussel sprouts…ehhh, maybe not.

When lunch time rolled around (on a day off), I pulled up this recipe and went to town.  If you’ve ever prepared quinoa, you know that it’s a pain in the ass to rinse – orrr you’re like me who just skips that step all together.  But, I figured that since I’m starting to eat more like a grown up, I should stop cutting corners.  I didn’t have a mesh strainer of any kind and was still in my pajamas at 12:30 therefore refused to get it together to go to a store for one so I improvised.

Quinoa - What The Efff blogWell, hello, sunshine.  The sunnier days have made up for the fact that it’s consistently below zero.  Still.  In March.  Ugh.

ANYway.  That’s Viva paper towel in my strainer.  In my opinion, Viva is the only acceptable paper towel to use.  Ever.  But, maybe I’m just a paper towel snob.

So, after patting myself on the back for being such a genius and taking the time to be a grown up and rinse my quinoa, it was time to cook it up.  I cooked mine with chicken broth for some extra flava flav.

Despite being a grown up and promising myself I wouldn’t take short cuts, I opted to take a bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower out of the freezer and microwave them.  I love those steamer bags.  So convenient.  So, while my quinoa was simmering and veggies were microwavin’, I went ahead and made the super easy, albeit delicious avocado dressing.

Quinoa Veggies Avocado Dressing - What The Efff blogAll you need is an avocado, olive oil, garlic, lemon, maple syrup, and apple cider vinegar.  Head on over to Katie’s blog for the how-to!

When I put it all together, I skipped most of the greens she used.  …brussel sprouts aren’t my favorite.  One of those things I’d eat if it was served to me, but given the option, I’ll skip it!  I also haven’t given kale a try yet.  It’s a trending food right now, but with a picky-eating husband, I’m always late to the game on those sorts of things.

Quinoa and Veggies with Avocado Dressing - What The Efff blogI think kale will make its way onto the grocery list for next week.

What are some of your favorite ways to use kale?

Just to be clear – I’m sharing the recipe because I la-la-la-loved it, not because Katie asked me to.  I’m just a big fan of her bloggity blog and wanted to share the goodness!

3 comments

  1. Besides cooking kale with ham, I toss in a soup like Minestrone or samething like that. You can pan sautee it like spinach. You can makes those EVER popular kale chips. Why kale chips? Why not baby spinach chips? OOOh! I’ll make those and post the recipe when it’s done! *snort*

    Kuddos. And I usually don’t rinse my quinoa either. Am I the only one that hears that commercial in their head when they think of quinoa? It’s just such a PITA to rinse and drain! And mine scatters to kingdom come when I try to remove it from said strainer or papertowel.

    Looks DELISH!! I need to start following her.

    Like

    1. LOL I’ve never seen that commercial – I’ll have to YouTube it. And yeah, some quinoa definitely stuck to the paper towel, but it wasn’t too bad. I was willing to sacrifice some!

      I plan to do some “kale research” this weekend and find an awesome inaugural recipe. …I don’t like ham, so that’s out! 😦

      Like

Thoughts?

