Red Velvet Trifle

Last year I made a red velvet trifle for my work holiday party.  It was ugly as sin and it tasted okay.  It wasn’t because the recipe was only okay, it was because I totally messed it up.  I might have forgotten the cool whip until I was on the top layer…which meant messy layers and marginal flavor.

Well – when Craig and I were asked to bring a dessert to a family Christmas on Saturday, I knew that this red dish deserved a second chance.  Craig “warned” me that the women in that family tend to get a bit competitive (about everything).  Well, let’s just say I totally won the dessert category.  I believe the words, “I think this needs to be the Christmas dessert from now on” was said by a person or two.  Mmhmmm.  Craig married a winner.  #provedit

Red Velvet Trifle - What The Efff BlogHow perfect is this!?  It’s a pretty holiday dish!  Perfect for Christmas, New Year’s, or Valentine’s Day!  I’d say the only draw back is that you have to have plans to make this dessert, you can’t just whip it up real fast because the cake needs to totally cool, cream cheese needs to soften, and cool whip needs to thaw.

It’s worth the wait, promise.

Because I don’t know parts of Craig’s family super well, I withheld the pecans I wanted so badly to dump in.  I think this definitely need a crunchy ingredient, but be careful not to ruin it for anyone with an aversion to nuts!

Red Velvet Trifle
Recipe Type: Dessert
Author: What The Efff Blog
Serves: 12
Ingredients
  • Red Velvet Cake Mix (and all ingredients required to make boxed cake)
  • 8 oz Reduced Fat Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/2 c powdered sugar
  • 1 1/4 c milk (1% or 2%)
  • 5 oz Package Instant Vanilla Pudding
  • 16 oz Cool Whip
Instructions
  1. Bake cake as directed on box in two-round cake pans
  2. Combine cream cheese and powered sugar until smooth
  3. Add milk and pudding; mix until well combined and smooth
  4. Fold in Cool Whip
  5. Crumble and spread about 1/4 of the cake (1/2 of one pan) into the bottom of a glass bowl
  6. Cover with ~1/3 of cream cheese mixture
  7. Repeat layers 2x
Notes
Optional: Top with chopped pecans for a little “crunch.”

Red Velvet Holiday Trifle - What The Efff Blog

Red Velvet Triffle at What The Efff Blog

 

 

Adapted from this recipe.

4 comments

Thoughts?

