All Things Thanksgiving

Maybe I’ll have a chance to be around more this week, maybe not.  Life has been busy and for awhile I felt really guilty neglecting my little bloggity blog.  But, then I didn’t.  And I won’t.  Real-life is more important than blog-life, right?  I’ll be around!  Per usual, I’m linking up with Sunday Social!

Favorite Thanksgiving Memory:
Most Thanksgivings were spent with my mom’s side of the family.  But, since we spent so much time with them, the only real difference was the turkey and stuffing on the table.  I’m honestly thankful that Thanksgiving wasn’t anything overly extraordinary.  For me, it meant that I got to see them so often that spending an arbitrary day with them didn’t seen overly special.  Don’t misconstrue that to mean that time with them isn’t special – it always is – but it just wasn’t out of the ordinary.  I had special times like that all the time!

 
Favorite Thanksgiving Food:
Mashed potatoes.  No gravy!  Pumpkin pie with a “dollop” of cool whip is a close second!

 
What is a Thanksgiving Tradition you and your family have?
When Craig and I got married, we lived a plane ride away from both sides of our family.  In order to save our sanity (and money!) during the holidays, we decided that Thanksgiving would be “our” holiday.  No traveling.  Anyone can come to us (we welcome you!), but our traveling will be over Christmas.

Last Thanksgiving we were on our honeymoon!
honeymoon Collage

What are you most looking forward to about this Thanksgiving?
I’m not sure yet – we don’t have any plans nailed down.  At one point, we talked about my grandma and aunt coming over, but because I’m a terrible grandkid, I haven’t talked to her for a few weeks.  Perhaps I should be on the phone with her rather than writing this post?  Gma – I’ll call you today, promise 🙂

SocialSundayButton3

6 comments

    1. Haha yessssss!!! Thanksgiving is my favorite! I just read your weekending post – I love living vicariously through you. You do the funnest (<—word? Probably not) things!

      Like

  1. Poor Gma- give her a call! I miss mine like crazy.

    Since I’m not a big turkey fan, Thanksgiving dinner has always about the side dishes for me (cornbread dressing, please!). And pies. Lots and lots of pie! I’ll be making a Salted Caramel Chocolate Pecan Pie as my meal contribution, while my mom does most of the cooking.

    Like

    1. I did one better and made a last minute trip to see grandma. It had been too long, for sure!!

      I very much a side-kind-of-gal, too. I’ve never been a huge meat/poultry kind of girl. But, man, give me some taters, cranberries, pie, green beans, etc and I’m happy!

      Like

Thoughts?

