Homemade French Dressing

I’m still pretty pumped that I was featured yesterday on Katie’s blog.  It’s like my first big break! 😉

Since I’ve been skimping on my posts lately, I figured I owed you a delish recipe.  It’s quick, easy, and oh-so-yummy.

First of all – have I mentioned Craig is a picky eater?  Well, in case I haven’t: Craig is a picky eater.  I will say he has gotten a lot “better” since we’ve been together, but things like this still happen in our house:

leaf sorting

Yes, I sorted our bagged lettuce.  Craig doesn’t like anything too “weird” and purple veggies fall into that category.  He will probably be mad/embarrassed that I shared this, but it’s all in good fun.  Someday I’ll give him the chance to air some of my dirty laundry on here. …maybe.

Anyway.

I got this recipe from an ex-boyfriend’s mom a few years ago.  itsseriouslysogood.Homemade French Dressing

Homemade French Dressing
Author: What The Efff Blog
Prep time: 5 mins
Total time: 5 mins
Ingredients
  • 1/4 c + 2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 2 Tbs vinegar
  • 2 Tbs ketchup
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Dash garlic powder
Instructions
  1. Mix all ingredients together with a whisk until fully combined.
  2. Chill.

 

purple dressing

The last time I made this, I subbed olive oil for the vegetable oil.  Honestly, I thought it made a huge difference…and it wasn’t a good difference.  I recommend sticking to the veggie oil, but that’s really up to you.  And you can buy “natural” ketchup (I’ve done it!), which can help make this a little healthier.  Not only does this dressing taste better than any store-bought (in my opinion), you know exactly what is in it – which can’t always be said for some things found on store shelves.

Now make like a rabbit and find yourself some greens!

6 comments

    1. It’s a plugin called “Easy Recipe.” I only have the free version, but you can upgrade for a fee and there is all sorts of fun things you can do with it! Super easy to use and makes me feel way more legit! ha

      Like

Thoughts?

