Motivation Monday

Here’s the thing, guys.  It’s been a rough few weeks.  My motivation has been all but nonexistent.  I’ve gone from being comfortable at 5ish miles back to struggling through two.  Since hearing Kimmie can’t run the half with me in a few weeks, I don’t feel accountable.  I forced myself through 2 miles Saturday and Sunday and let’s just say it wasn’t pretty.  Quite ugly, actually.

mouse My lack of motivation has definitely been visible with my blogging, too.  I was traveling last week for work, which partly explains my absence, but if it had been a month ago, I would’ve made sure I had something lined up for each day that I was gone.  Obviously, I didn’t bother.

It might be a little quieter around these parts.  I need to get myself back on track.  When I lived in Tennessee, I used quite a few Pinterest workouts.  Kim mentioned them to me again yesterday and I’m going to start using them again for some structure.  I also plan on checking out my Women’s Health magazine, there are some gems in those sometimes!

 

trexMy schedule for the week is a little crazy.  Thankfully, I usually have 1 1/2 hour lunch breaks.  Monday, I have a lunch meeting – which means no lunch hour workout.  But, otherwise I’m hoping to starting using my lunch hour more efficiently and sneak in a workout!

Wish me luck!

What resources do you use for workout inspiration?
What keeps you motivated?

4 comments

  1. I definitely struggle to stay motivated, too. Sorry that things have been so busy, and bummer about the half. I didn’t know you were running it with Kim! I’d say that if you can safely get back on your training plan and build up to a good amount of mileage before the race, just forgive yourself and do that. If you can’t, forgive yourself and don’t run it. Or allow yourself to do a run/walk. Whatever you do, don’t push harder than you should and hurt yourself. Injuries suck. Believe me.

    As far as blogging goes, something that has helped me is making an editorial calendar of sorts. So I know that every Thursday, for example, I’m going to be posting a recipe. That REALLY helps when it comes to thinking of things to write about. Also, what about guest posts? You could have a few of those lined up throughout the week to take some of the burden off while you are so busy.

    I don’t think it matters so much if you only post, say, three times a week. Or heck, even once a week. But I think being consistent is important for blogging, especially with us new bloggers! Figure out how consistent you are willing and able to be, and then don’t beat yourself up for it and embrace it!

    That’s my .02

    Like

    1. Thanks, Amy! I’ve definitely tried sticking to a calendar of sorts, but I quickly got overwhelmed. Maybe now that I’m not going to push myself to post as regularly I can get back on a plan like that!

      I’m going to try my best to still run the half. I’ve signed up and backed out of a couple others, so I really don’t want to be that easy on myself, though I am worried about increasing my mileage too quickly. We shall see what this weekend brings. I’m hoping to get to 6. *fingers crossed

      Like

  2. I have been in the same place lately. My motivation somehow didn’t make it through into October. I decided that I need to refocus/reboot my life as well. Hope it gets better for you soon!

    Like

Thoughts?

