Swiftly Painted Challenge – October

I follow a gazillion blogs and a number of them poke fun at linkups.  I, for one, love them.  They’re there if you want to participate or need some help finding something to write about, but they’re just as easily ignored if you aren’t feeling it.  Blogtember was great for me because in a super crazy-busy month, it relieved some pressure about finding something to write about each day.  For any of the days I was “stuck,” I just turned to Blogtember prompts and I was good to go!

Well, now, Jess and Annemarie have created a monthly link up called Swiftly Painted.  To read more about it, check out The Simply Swift or The IRiS Blog.  The main jist is that each month we have to pose a self portrait (heyyyy iPhone selfie!) and post it along with a reponse to that month’s prompt.  Hopefully it will allow you to get to know a different side of me and I think it’s pretty cool that I will have a snapshot from each month for the next 13 months!

Without further ado, October:

October: Writing prompt: Reflect and respond to this statement: your followers follow you willingly. Create an image of what describes you as a blogger. Bonus points for little clues about what’s going on in your life.

JoanofArcChapelI’ve been blogging for about six months now.  It’s been a crazy six months.  Kim and I took the leap last month of going self-hosted and since then we’ve both had the ups and downs of wondering if it was worth it.  Blogging can be hard!

In the last eight months or so, since I’ve started really getting into the blogging world, I’ve seen more than one blogger take leaves or indefinite leaves from their space of the internet.  I get it.  For me, those moments when I feel like I should walk away, come when I lack confidence in my writing (“does anyone really care what I’m writing?”).  But, then I remind myself that at the very least I have four people that will read my words religiously:  my mom, sister, grandma, and husband.  I think I have an aunt that keeps up, too?  Aunt Sue, ya out there? 😉

My point is that I have to continually bring myself back to the “why.”  Why am I blogging?  I’m blogging for my family.  We’re all over the place and they’ve told me they love keeping up this way.  And I’m blogging for my new-found bloggy buddies.  You guys are an excellent bonus.  Excellent bonus.  Every single day I’m blown away at the community that blogging creates.  It’s made some of my existing relationships stronger (love you, Kimmie!), I’ve found support (can always count on you, Chris, for a smile (and awesome recipes!)), and I’ve found a large community of women that care about each other.  It’s so neat!   So, for my family I will continue to share the bits and pieces of my every day life.  And for all my other bloggy buddies, I’ll continue to share my recipes and ridiculously cute pictures of my dogs (y’all live for those, right?).

swiftlypaintedbutton

8 comments

  1. Awwwww *sniff sniff*

    Your reasons rock! Mine are selfish. *snort* I blog for me! The recipes are for y’all but the commentary are so I don’t go insagn. 🙂

    Like

  2. I blog for the same reasons. I too have been overwhelmed by the amazing community of the blogging world. I had no idea it was so awesome when I started this. Blogging isn’t really a thing where I am from. I found blogging through some famous Youtubers blogs and wanted to start something of my own. It has been an interesting journey so far.

    Like

  3. I love link up as an opportunity to meet new bloggers that I might never have found through other methods.I like this one as it follows us over a tear. Good to meet you and I look forward to checking back again.
    🙂
    Traci

    Like

    1. I agree – I’ve met some great bloggers through linkups! Good to meet you – I’ll have to hop back over to the link up page to check the newest submissions!

      Like

Thoughts?

