Blueberry Muffins

I learned something really important this morning.  No matter what I do, I will never, ever like Greek Yogurt.  Well, I like coconut flavored, but otherwise, NOPE.  I bought some Vanilla Chobani thinking it would be delicious with the fresh blueberries and raspberries I had.  Never mind the fact that I’ve never, ever liked it previously.  Well, guess what – those delicious little pieces of fruit did nothing to mask the chalky, icky flavor.  Sigh.  I want so badly to enjoy it, I guess it just isn’t in the cards.

KitchenspirationButton

Today I’m sharing with you all my favorite blueberry muffin recipe and link up with Stephanie and Chelsea.  I shared it back in June at Racing Bananas, and I linked to it over here, but since them I’ve gained some readership and I want to make sure y’all can enjoy it, too!

blueberry-single2

Blueberry Muffins

1 1/2 c flour
3/4 c sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/3 c vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 c milk
1 c fresh blueberries

1/2 c sugar
1/3 c flour
1/4 c butter, cubed
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Combine 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c sugar, salt, and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into 1 c measuring cup, add egg, and enough milk to fill the rest of the way. Mix with four mixture. Fold in blueberries. Set aside.

blueberry-batter

Mix 1/2 c sugar, 1/3 c flour, 1/4 c butter, and 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon with fork. It should be clumpy.

blueberry-struesel

Fill muffin cups 2/3 c full and top with cinnamon mixture. Bake at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

blueberry-collage

On the left: regular muffins; on right: muffins with extra blueberries!  If you have the extra blueberries I highly recommend adding more than a cup of them. There is just something about baked goods with blueberries that make my heart flutter!

blueberry2

So, while there is no hope for Greek Yogurt ‘n me, at least I have blueberries.

blueberry-single

Blueberry Muffins
Author: What The Efff Blog
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 18 mins
Total time: 28 mins
Serves: 12
If you’re feeling a little adventuresome, add some extra blueberries to the batter to really knock it out of the park!
Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 c vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1 c fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/3 c flour
  • 1/4 c butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
Instructions
  1. Combine 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c sugar, salt, and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into 1 c measuring cup, add egg, and enough milk to fill the rest of the way. Mix with four mixture. Fold in blueberries. Set aside.
  2. Mix 1/2 c sugar, 1/3 c flour, 1/4 c butter, and 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon with fork. It should be clumpy.
  3. Fill muffin cups 2/3 c full and top with cinnamon mixture. Bake at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.
7 comments

  1. Girl. That’s because you’ve been trying to eat it plain. I won’t ever like it that way either. But Greek Yogurt can be used for SO many things. I discovered it recently and devoted a whole post to it a couple months ago. For one thing, do you like baked potatoes? If you put sour cream in them, sub it for Greek yogurt. You can also do the same thing with mashed potatoes. Do you like chicken? I have a Greek yogurt baked chicken recipe that makes it come out SO tender and moist. Do you like pasta sauce? You can add Greek yogurt to tomato sauce to make a really good creamy a la vodka-esque sauce.

    The possibilities are actually endless. My favorite way to eat it is on baked potatoes. Seriously. Try it out!

    (I’m totally with you on eating it alone. Gross).

    Like

    1. I have subbed it a few times for things and I don’t mind that as much. But, I see all these people that be lovin’ their plain greek yogurt with fruit and it’s just nas-tay! Ha! I’ll be stalking your blog now for that post! 🙂

      Like

  2. I am now CRAVING blueberry muffins. I love all kinds of fruit, muffins and scones are a few of my favorite baked goods. I like to eat flavored greek yogurt but agree with you on the plain stuff. I am stopping by from the link-up.

    Like

  3. It might be more expensive, but Fage is so much better than Chobani…its actually smooth and creamy. My favorite is with honey. But if you don’t like it, you don’t like it! Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

Thoughts?

