Fear

fear

I just love this quote.  I’m not sure how applicable it is to what it is I’m going to share, but nonetheless, I wanted it to be shared.

Day to day, I’m not a risk-taker.  You won’t find me sky diving or taking other unnecessary risks for the thrill of it.  I live pretty conservatively.  The things I fear aren’t things I fear will happen to me, they are fears that I’d like to believe I can control.  I choose every day not to throw myself out of an airplane because it would frighten me, so I just choose to avoid it.

I fear what others think of me based on the decisions I make.  But, that fear doesn’t stop me.  I make unpopular decisions on a regular basis.  I have the courage to do it, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t fear the thoughts of others.

I’m fearful that despite my best efforts, someone, somewhere will be left with the impression that I am not worthy, that I’m unintelligent, shallow, or mean.  I don’t believe I am any of those things, but the fact I cannot control the perception of others makes me uncomfortable.

A handy, dandy Google search says you can call it “Social Phobia.”  Ha.  Well, I don’t think I’m that extreme.  But, it was interesting to read about.  Maybe now I can to my list of fears:  “I’m afraid of developing Social Phobia.”    Or: “I have a phobia of developing Social Phobia.”  Or: “I have a phobia of developing a phobia that will lead to Social Phobia.”  Okay, I’m done now.

 

Blogtember

What about you?  Do you have any distinct fears?  Phobias? Things that send your anxiety level through the roof?

2 comments

Thoughts?

