My Golden Nugget for the World

Day three of Blogtember asks for me to pass on some useful advice or information I’ve learned and always remembered.

no better quoteMy mom has been repeating these words to me since I was a little girl.

They were words that she said her dad (my Grandpa Wally) said to her, too.

I can’t remember if I’ve talked about my Grandpa on here before, but if I have, you know that I admire him very, very much.  He was a self-made man and returned so much to his community, in service and other donations.

He passed away when I was a freshman in high school, so I was old enough to be able to keep some really special memories of him locked away.

Mom always said that he worked so much when she was a kid, that seeing him with me and my sister was really special for her.  Hearing her describe his relationship with us from her point of view makes it even more special to me.

Despite being sick, the man made it to a number of my basketball games that year.  Even if it meant pulling up a chair at the top of the stairs to take a rest before making it to his van.  That big ‘ole van.

He’s been my hero for as long as I can remember.  This little quote reminds me to work hard, but not to be arrogant.  To work hard and not ever let anyone else make me feel less than them.

 

Blogtember

3 comments

Thoughts?

