Where I Come From

I stumbled upon Jenni’s Blogtember and am jumping on the opportunity to have someone else plan the topics of my blog for a month.  It might mean that you get a daily double time and time again this month, but you don’t mind, do you?

Here we are at Day One:  Where I Come From.

family test

I come from the most loving, supportive family you can possibly imagine.

I have parents that have allowed me to make my own decisions (even when they don’t necessarily agree with them!) and have let me find my own direction.  As I get older, I’ve become more and more grateful for this.

Proof-1087

I come from a highly emotional family.  Happy, sad, angry – they’re all extreme.  We tell each other exactly what we think and that has led to some major blow ups.  But, on the flip-side of that, we love each other as intensely as we fight with each other.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Proof-1027

I’m lucky to say that I have 2 parents that remain married to this day.  They’ve shown me what marriage is and while it isn’t always rainbows and butterflies, mutual respect and love can you see you through.

Proof-1153

I have a papa that has spent time as a rodeo man, Harley dude, sailor, iron worker, and business man.  I love his adventuresome spirit and his thoughtful, kind words that always seem to come at the perfect time.  Despite the fact he worked really hard (and a lot of hours!) he always made time to coach basketball, come to dance recitals, tennis matches, and football games to watch his little girls.

Proof-1114

I think the relationship I have with my mom is a unique one.  She remains the first person I call when I just need someone on the other end of the line.  She is a fierce mama bear, but never once stepped in unless I asked her to.  She stayed at home with me as a kid and I hope someday I can do the same for my own.  She gives tough love, but I think it’s the best love.

Proof-1107

I have a sister that I can truly call my best friend.  Sure, she isn’t always the best at keeping in touch and I bitch hardcore sometimes about it, but at the end of the day she has always been there for me when I’ve needed her most.  Always.  I’m sure I have a trait or two that drive her insane, too.

3 generations

I have a grandmother that I’m incredibly close with.  Honestly, after my parents moved away I really, really leaned on her for emotional support.  I love my grandma Faye more than I could possibly say.

I come from a life far from perfection, but one that I’m grateful for every day.

*photo credit: Parish Photography, San Antonino, Texas

Blogtember

 

2 comments

Thoughts?

