Chicken Rice Bake

Today, I’m spending some time with my MIL’s family.   Grandma and Grandpa on that side are celebrating their 63rd wedding anniversary!  Big congratulations to them!

So while we are off enjoying the nice weather and delicious food, I’m sharing an easy meal for you, too!  Craig was thrilled when he saw I was making rice instead of quinoa, but I have no doubt that you could easily sub that in.  It’s just that when you live with a man with a very simplistic palate, you can’t get too crazy.  Of course, I’m using the term “crazy” very loosely here.

The Le Creuset baking dish I used has some sentimental value.  As we celebrate a big milestone for Craig’s grandparents, I’m remembering my own Grandma Jeanne.  My Aunt Julie gave me this dish as a wedding gift with the sweetest note.  My grandma passed away when I was in middle school.  I definitely have some memories, but I also rely on my parents and Aunt Julie to fill some of the rest in.  Grandma J loved cooking/baking with Le Creuset dishes – a fact I learned of with my wedding gift.  Grandma was an outstanding chef.  You could always count on her for a kick ass cheese cake and daily waffle breakfasts when we were staying with her.

chicken bake 2

– 2 chicken breasts, cooked
– 4 c cooked brown rice
– 1 c frozen corn
– 15 oz can black beans, rinsed & drained
– 1 c sour cream
– 4 oz can green chilis
– 1/2 c salsa
– 1 c cheddar cheese
– 2 Tbs fresh cilantro

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients, except cilantro.  Season with salt & pepper.  Transfer to an oven safe dish and bake for 20-25 min.  Garnish fresh, chopped cilantro.

chicken bake 1

This is also great reheated, Craig and I, both, enjoyed this for lunch a couple days later the week I made this.

To give credit, where credit is due, this recipe is original to HowSweetEats.  I opted to add more corn and to use sour cream instead of the Greek yogurt she suggests.  Remember, I live with a man that doesn’t like “weird” things, Greek yogurt wasn’t going to fly.

Thoughts?

