Sunday Social

Good morning! I’m waking up to my first official morning in our first home! What, whaaaaat. I will be a busy, busy bee unpacking. We’re also headed to my grandma’s to relieve her of the oodles and oodles of items I’ve kept in “storage” in her basement for the past few years. Bonus is that we’re also headed home with some other goodies for the house!

Until I can get around to showing you the booty, let’s get to Sunday Social!

1. What do you miss most about being a kid?
Not having to worry about a thang. Mom and dad took good care of us kids. We always had good food in our bellies, clothes on our back, we traveled a lot, and of course, our home was always filled with love. It still is, for sure, but man, I’d love to go back and just have mom and dad fund my lifestyle. Maybe they’ll think about it? Whatdoyasay, mama? Papa? ….no? Oh, okay.

Proof-1002

Love ’em.

2. Did you have a nickname growing up? What was it?
I did, I did. Whether it was was “Big J” (Kelsey was Little K), “Flounder” (I loved to swim!), “Pookie” (hayyyy, Kels!), I had a number of them. But, I gained one in high school and it’s stuck the longest: Ducky. All thanks to my dad. But, honestly, it’s endearing, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like it.

ducky

3. What was your favorite thing to do at recess?
4-square, hanging on the monkey bars. The usual.

4. What did you want to be when you grew up?
Who didn’t want to be a doctor, veterinarian or teacher? While I never wanted to be a doctor, I spent time contemplating the other two.

5. Did you participate in any school activities?
Yeah, yeah. Basketball, soccer, poms. The only one I did for four years was poms, I love me some dancin’. I even danced into my junior year of college. I miss it like crazy, but I had the opportunity to give it another go this year and was reminded that I’m not a “spring chick” anymore. Oof. My body hated me.

Dance Collage

Huge reality check seeing 2003 and 2013 – A SPAN OF 10 YEARS – on this collage.

6. What is the funniest thing you did as a kid that your parents still remind you about?
Nothing came to my mind immediately. The two stories I think of most often revolve around my sister. She was a little hellion, that one. And they both took place at Disney World, separate trips. I’ll just share one.
1. Waiting in line to see Bernstein Bears and Kelsey pitched a fit. They told her if she didn’t stop, we were leaving. …she didn’t stop. So, we left the world of children’s dreams. Kels had to stay in the hotel room, while mom and I went to the pool to play. We could hear the screaming and crying from the pool – dramatic little girl, you could say. It’s no surprise she ended up enjoying (and being very good at!) theatre. Love you, Little K.

kiddo pic

Mom/Dad, If you can think of a goodie about me, comment. For the life of me, I can’t come up with anything. I guess I was just that perfect. 😉

3 comments

  1. Wasn’t this a FUN link-up this week?! LOVED being able to think back on my childhood and read on others, too – I really do miss the care free & simple time of being a kid! I don’t think I knew how good I had it! ha! 😉

    Like

Thoughts?

