Magic In The Bedroom

Yesterday, I had the pleasant surprise of attending the new employee convocation at work.  It had been on my calendar, but totally forgot about it until the reminder popped up on my computer, 15 minutes before it was to start.  It was really nice to spend the day in a room full of “newbies” like myself.  Though, compared to many, I was old news!  A man at my table had just arrived from London YESTERDAY.  Crazytown.  It was a day spent just reinforcing how happy I am to be where I am and how lucky I am to have found such a great place to work.  Higher education employs very special people.  Good people.

Oh, oh, oh.  AND I changed the tabs around a bit. At the top you’ll see that I took away the Run, Run, Running and House Hunt tabs.  I changed the Run, Run, Running to Fitness and the House Hunt is now Hjem (Danish for home!).  You can still find our house hunt journey up there, but now that we are home owners (eeeek!), I wanted to change it so I had the perfect place to add the transformations I hope to complete!

Day one of four, people.  Get your creative juices flowing!

In our new home, there are two bedrooms on the main level.  Obviously, one is serving as the master and the other will double as a guest room and office.  Today, I’m just going to focus on the master.  I really want a “charming” bedroom.  I don’t want country or modern.  I’m more than okay with mis-matched furniture and I’m insisting on a DIY headboard.  I’m torn between the curtain headboards I’ve seen (how unique) and other DIY with upholstered headboards.  I love them both.  Here are some of my inspirations.  What do you think?  I’d love your feedback!  And if you’ve posted anything in recent history about a decorating, DIY bedroom project, leave it for me in comments, I’d love to take a peek!

Headboard Curtain||source||

So pretty!  I love that it’s a little bit unexpected.  I also love the texture!

Headboard Curtain 2||source||

Another curtain headboard.  I love that the frame adds a little something to it.

completedheadboardpin_zps7dce34b5.png~original||source||

I’ve seen quite a few tutorials on how to DIY.  I’m sharing this one because I love the final result SO much.  I also love Lisette’s blog.

shabby-chic-bedroom-1||source||

I love the bed.  I love the furniture. I love the fireplace.  The floors. The window. Everything.

shabby chic room||source||

The texture.  Color. Bed. Chandelier. I die.  Beautiful.

The more I’ve looked, I guess I have a name for the bedroom style I like: shabby chic.  However, I have to say I don’t like all that is shabby chic.  I’m not a big fan of floral stuff.  At all.  But, I love the light colors, the texture, and general style.  I love that the rooms are typically bright and happy.

Craig is more a fan of the darker woods.  And I am too, just not in the bedroom.  We shall see how the compromising goes as we start to decorate our home.  …hopefully he will take on the “typical” role of a husband and tell me he just doesn’t care!

Leave your thoughts and links to your own DIY and ideas in comments!

2 comments

  1. My advice is this – if you do choose to make a DIY upholstered headboard, don’t pick a crazy shape. If you do, it could be murder to try to get your fabric to actually stretch the right way and look good on it. Take a look at this blog for more details. http://www.designmanifest.com/inspiration/bedtime-story-or-how-i-hacked-my-ikea-bed/
    Hers ended up looking great and she gives some good tips. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Like

Thoughts?

