Oven Fried Chicken

I’m really starting to enjoy cooking and baking.  Well, I’ve always loved to bake (hello, sweet tooth!), but the cooking part is a newer development.  I got pretty lazy when Craig had class this summer, hence the hiatus of any eatable food here on my blog, but since he’s been done, I’m back at it!  Disclaimer: as we gear up for our move next weekend, I won’t be cooking at home.  I think I have a couple recipes up my sleeve to share, but just in case my act doesn’t stay together, What The Efff may be recipe-free next week.

For Christmas last year, Kim gave me a Williams-Sonoma cook book for couples cooking.  Yes, that was eight months ago and yes, this is the first recipe I’ve made out of it.  It was intimidating!  They were, like, real meals, guys.

This recipe was rated 2 out of 3 spoons, which means it was intermediate.  BOOYA.  Yep, I made an intermediate-level recipe.  And rocked it.  It might sound ridiculous, but the fact I used a real head of garlic and chicken legs (not breasts!) totally made me feel legit.  Small victories, I guess.

oven fried chicken

– 2 heads garlic
– 8 whole chicken legs (drumsticks and thighs), with our without skin*
– salt and pepper to taste
– 1 Tbs chopped fresh parsley
– 1 Tbs chopped fresh oregano
– 1 1/2 c fine toasted bread crumbs**
– 1 c flour
– 3 eggs
– 1/2 c butter

*I used 6 chicken legs.  I didn’t have the guts to try and manevuer whole chicken legs.  Not yet, anyway.
**I used store-bought Italian bread crumbs.  They worked well.  And it was easier, because I wasn’t crisping bread crumbs.  Who really has time for that!?

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Separate the garlic heads into cloves, peel the cloves and then cut cloves lengthwise into 32 small slivers about 1/8″ thick.  Place the chicken pieces on a large platter and season each piece liberally with salt and pepper.  Pierce each chicken piece to make 4 small incisions, each just large enough to hold a garlic sliver.  Reserve any leftover garlic.

photo 1

Stir together the parsley, oregano, and bread crumbs in a shallow bowl, large enough to dip the chicken pieces one at a time.  Put the flour in a separate shallow bowl.  In a third bowl, beat the eggs with 2 Tbs water until well blended.

Melt the butter in a large glass baking dish by placing it in the preheated oven.  Meanwhile, dredge each piece of chicken in flour, shaking off any excess, coat it in the egg mixture, and then dredge it in the herbed bread crumbs.

chicken

When the butter has melted, remove the dish from the oven and nestle the coated chicken pieces, skin side down, in the warm butter, arranging the pices to fit tightly.  Tuck any leftover garlic between the chicken pieces.

Bake for 45 minutes, then carefully turn over each piece.  Continue baking until the chicken is well browned and crisped on the edges, about 35 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let cool slightly before serving with any caramelized garlic slivers sprinkled on top.

photo 3

First of all, I love garlic.  I love the smell of it baking.  Waiting for this to finish was torturous.  It was so worth the wait, though.  Probably one of my most favorite meals in months.  Secondly, there is no second.  I love garlic.  ThatIsAll.

If you’re watching what you eat, you probably shouldn’t eat fried chicken, but you could just remove the skin, too.  It’s much more moist with the skin.  I ate my leftovers cold the next day and it was ah-mazing.

4 comments

  1. YUM! I’m drooling just looking at it. I think I had a couples cookbook when i first got married, but it’s long gone…like my ex thank God! LOL

    I did pantry cooking before we moved so it was less kitchen stuff to pack. It’s a thought. 🙂

    Like

Thoughts?

