Mini Corn Dogs

Before we get to the corn dogs, I have to tell you how excited I am over a dining room table.  Yes, a table.  Our new home has a nice dining room and we currently own 2 very college-like, 4 seater tables that I refused to have sitting in that lovely dining room.  I repeatedly told Craig that if we only bought one flipping thing for the new house, it had to be a dining room table.

We had found one we both liked at Costco of all places when we were there shopping on Saturday.  But, to cover all of our bases, we went shopping last night at Steinhafels.  It’s a huge location here, but their dining room section left a lot to be desired.  I didn’t see a single table I liked.  Zero.  Even the ones that were uber expensive.  We had also looked around online and found that our winner was back at Costco.  Yep, last night we went to Costco and bought ourselves a 6 seater dining room table.  And it’s purdy.  The seats are legit leather and I love the table legs.  Unique!  Shout out to Tom who left his homemade pizza to bring his SUV to help get this sucker home. 🙂

table

In the spirit of the Wisconsin State Fair, it’s pretty perfect that I have a corn dog recipe to share with you, right?  I have to admit, that with all of the other delicious fried foods to try, I didn’t enjoy a corn dog this year.  But, I sure saw some massive ones making their way around the fair.  Those suckers had to be over a foot and a half long!  It was pretty serious!

This recipe is so easy and pretty delicious.  It would be a great recipe to whip together if you have some kiddos OR if you’re married to a man like Craig, whom loves food like corn dogs.  And Doritos.  And Mt. Dew.  You get the picture.

corndog1 c flour
1 c cornmeal
1 Tbs baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 c milk
1/3 c unsweetened applesauce
1/4 c sugar
hot dogs

1. Preheat oven to 400 F
2. In large bowl, mix together flour, cornmeal, salt, and baking powder
3. In separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, applesauce, and sugar
4. Gently stir wet ingredients into the dry, careful not to overmix!
5. LIBERALLY spray your mini muffin tin with cooking spray
6. Fill mini muffin tin 3/4 full.  Don’t fill all the way to the top
7. Insert mini hot dog or hot dog piece into each muffin
8. Bake 12-15 minutes
9. Remove immediately from pan to prevent over-cooking

I can literally make these in 20 minutes, they’re so fast!  I don’t use mini hot dogs, but rather I use bun length hot dogs, cut into quarters.  With the size of my mini muffin pan, I need 6 hot dogs.

drool
Myles seemed pretty excited to try them.  What a little drool monster!

One comment

Thoughts?

