Chicken Fajita Pasta

I knew the moment I got out of my car this morning it was going to be “one of those days.”  My sunglasses fogged up.  At 7:15 this morning it was already 78 and humid.  GROSS.  My hair hates it.  I hate it.  Weather was one of the top reasons I disliked Tennessee so much.  Wah Wahhh….

I also had “the” moment last night.  You know the one when you look in the mirror and realize, holy crap, I’ve really let myself go.  I’d love to blame the icky sticky weather or the fact I live with a man that can eat whatever he pleases with no ill-effects, but I can only blame myself.  I gave myself a kick in the hiney and was able to turn to my friend, Kim, for some support.  She, too, has recently voiced some frustration, so we’ve decided to team up!  We created a Google document today to track our food (no calories, I hate calorie tracking!), water, exercise, snacks, etc etc.  I’m weirdly excited about it.  She can keep me accountable better than my husband can – anytime Craig says anything I get offended (sorry babe!) and I immediately think he is calling me fat.  Ha, yep, I’m that girl.

Now onto the good stuff!

Holy moly.  It’s been a bit since I’ve posted a recipe, eh? I’ve got a super duper good one for ya today. This is easily my most favorite recipe. Craig tolerates it, but it has a few too many veggies in it for his liking (you’ll laugh when you realize there are just a couple bell peppers – picky eater)! I can’t remember where I originally found this recipe (sorry!), but I think I’ve added enough of my own flair so that it’s okay. I won’t claim it as my original creation, but rather my own variation.

f baked

– ~12 ounces pasta (I used Barilla tomato penne)
– olive oil
– 2 chicken breasts, cubed
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1/2 tsp paprika
– dash of cayenne pepper
– salt and pepper to taste
– 2 Tbs butter
– 3 bell peppers, seeded and sliced (I use orange and yellow, because they’re my favorite!)
– 1 medium sweet onion, sliced
– 3 cloves garlic, minced
– 4 oz canned green chiles, diced
– 1/2 c sour cream
– 8 oz shredded cheddar cheese*
– 8 oz shredded pepper jack cheese*

*You should shred your own cheese! The pre-shredded stuff has ingredients to keep it from clumping. If you shred your own, it will end up smoother. It only takes a few extra minutes and it’s totally worth it!

Pre heat your oven to 400 degrees F. Spray your baking dish, set aside. Prepare pasta according to package directions. Drain.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet. As it is heating, sprinkle your raw chicken with cumin, paprika, and cayenne. Add the chicken to the skillet and cook through and no longer pink. Season it with salt and pepper. Set chicken aside in separate bowl.

In the same skillet, met your butter. Add the sliced peppers and onion. Saute until tender. Mix in the garlic and green chilies and saute for a few minutes longer.

Transfer the vegetable mixture into the same bowl with chicken. Add the sour cream, shredded cheeses, and cooked pasta to bowl. Mix everything until well combined.

Transfer to baking dish.
Bake for 15 minutes until slightly browned and bubbling.

f collage

So, it takes a little bit of multitasking, but it’s worth it.  Trust.

Though I now realize that this recipe may not be the best to keep a girl on track to make changes for a healthier life style – meh, you have to treat yourself once and awhile, right?

Thoughts?

