Colorado Vacation, Part 2

After our healthy, delicious meal at Chick fil a (healthy? hahahahhaa), Craig and I headed out of the Springs for the main event!

We checked into an Econo Lodge (not-so-nice, in the middle of no where, literally the only choice for over a half hour).  After a little bit of primping, our friend, Bob, arrived with his date, Sabrina.  I absolutely adore Bob.  He is another Wisco guy.  He lived with Craig in the Springs and stood in our wedding.  Bob is just the kind of guy you want the best of things for.

Bob and Allie in our wedding

Bob and Allie in our wedding

The wedding was just a mile drive from the hotel.  The ceremony and reception, both, took place in the backyard of the bride’s parents.  It was beautiful.

ceremoney Collage

Unfortunately, it rained through the whole ceremony.  I was pretty bummed for them, but they didn’t let it ruin their day.  Lindsey was gorgeous and Taylor just had the most adorable grin plastered on his face the entire afternoon and evening.

Instead of a candle or sand ceremony, they did a wine box ceremony.  They both wrote love letters to each other, sealed them up into an envelope and placed it into a wooden chest, along with a bottle of wine and two wine glasses.  Taylor and Lindsey will open it on their first anniversary and be reminded of their feelings on the day they said “I do.”  I’ve never seen that done as part of a ceremony and I have to admit, I loved it.

w the kiss

THE KISS

w hubbywife

Of course, as soon as the ceremony was finished and everyone moved into a tent, the rain stopped.  Timing is funny like that, isn’t it?  It was good it stopped though because then we didn’t get wet standing in line for our beer, dinner, or playing corn hole (it will always be “bags” to me…but apparently everywhere else, but Wisconsin, it’s called corn hole).

w bags

Dinner was Chipotle.  Enough said.

w chipotle

After dinner, as the speeches were being done, Taylor and Lindsey read the vows they had written to one another.  They were nice enough to skip over it during their ceremony (I had no idea anything was skipped!), but I liked that they still took the time to read them in front of everyone.  I just love this couple.

w vows

Vows

w speech

Their first dance was to an Elvis Presley song.  Too cute.  Craig and I had a discussion before the wedding – Craig thought that no country would be played (the groom hates it), but I knew that the bride would win that battle and she is a huge country fan.  And sure enough – country was the majority of the play list!  When I asked Lindsey about it, she said that Taylor wanted nothing to do with the music portion, so she went nuts and made sure it was music that she would like.  As the compromise, Taylor picked the first dance.  It was adorable.

w first dance

As it got dark, the dance floor was lit by Christmas lights.  It just looked so simple and classic.  The weather ended up being perfect and it seemed like everyone has a blast.  Congrats to the newlyweds, Taylor and Lindsey, our favorite Colorado natives!

w dance floor lights

w playhouse

couple Collage

couple silly Collage

w groom

The groom, Taylor

w pic with newly

The next morning, I drug 3 hung over cats out of bed and we headed back into the Springs for breakfast.  There is a Packer bar downtown called Tony’s.  Their Bloody Mary breakfast is to die for.  Greasy bar breakfast and Bloody Marys?  I don’t think it gets any better than that!  I scarfed that food down so fast – I think I might’ve forgotten to breathe.  I didn’t even remember to take a picture.

w tony

After breakfast, we sadly said “goodbye” to Bob and headed to Denver.  Craig dropped me off with Allie and he headed to the airport.  Now, on top of missing my furbabies, I also miss my husband!  I’m flying home tonight and I can’t wait to snuggle with my three favorite boys.  I’ll be back Friday with the final leg of my Colorado trip!

5 comments

  1. The wine box was brilliant! I’ve never seen that before either. I’ve heard that rain on your wedding day is supposed to be good luck. At least they didn’t let it ruin their day.

    If it’s not too late, you should eat at Snooze in dinner. Best breakfast I’ve ever had!

    Like

  2. Sounds like ya had a great day! I’ve never heard of the wine box, but it’s been a while since I’ve gotten married. LOL I love simple weddings, too. I’m having a hell of a time figuring out what to do for this one. This one I want to be perfect, and I just can’t find THE place yet. *pout*

    And ick to Chipotle. They put cilantro in E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G! I can’t stand cilantro. LOL

    Like

Thoughts?

