Racing Bananas talks Healthy Living

Well, I’m pretty pumped about today.  I’ve yammered on and on about my dear friend Kim, over at Racing Bananas, and now, you get to meet her for yourself!  I’ve come to really admire Kim and the strength that she exhibits on a daily basis when it comes to living a healthy lifestyle.  It’s probably good we’re miles apart, I’m sure that I would be a bad influence!  That cone of ice cream?  I gots to have it.  But, she can say no.  And she can pull herself off of the couch to get a work out in, just as I am deciding that I’m far to comfortable to move.  Except to get that ice cream cone.

kim graduation

The two purdiest girls graduating that day!

|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|

Hi everyone! My name is Kim and I blog over at Racing Bananas. As you may know, I met Jessi in grad school and we quickly hit it off! Since then, she has been one of my closest friends and biggest motivators. Today, Jessi’s letting me hijack her blog today to talk with you all about motivation and how I’ve stayed motivated while beginning to live a healthy lifestyle.

My healthy living journey began during the Summer 2011 – I had reached my highest weight and was battling depression and self-image issues. With my dad and brother, I decided to change my eating habits and began exercising. I started doing the Atkins Diet, but soon realized that it was not sustainable for me. So paired with going to the gym and eating more healthy and in moderation, I have lost about 40 pounds in just under two years. It’s something that I am extremely proud of and strive to maintain. This can be pretty difficult, because I love sweets. And carbs. And lots of other not so healthy things! But again, everything in moderation, right?

Well, trying to live a healthy lifestyle has been a journey, and I have definitely had my share of successes and setbacks. Some days are definitely better than others and I constantly need to remind myself WHY I’ve made the decision to make these life changes. For me, it’s not just about losing weight – it’s about feeling good about myself and my body. I’ve found there are two main things that keep me motivated; setting personal goals and being inspired by others.

Goals
I have become a big believe in goal-setting. Setting weekly goals helps me to realize what I want to achieve and then make me accountable to those goals. It’s taken awhile, but I’ve found that sharing my weekly goals on my blog has really helped keep my goals in check. When I’m checking in on a weekly basis, I find I evaluate where I am more often and am able to make adjustments as needed. Here’s an idea of what my goals have been in June:

goals

Inspiration
I’ve also found that hearing and reading about other’s success stories is incredibly inspiring and keeps me motivated to stay on track. Especially since joining the blogging community, I’ve been overwhelmed not only by the accomplishments of others, but also by how supportive everyone is. It’s fantastic! For example, I just signed up to run my first half marathon after contemplating it for about a year – ahh! But knowing that there are awesome people like Jessi who has run THREE halfs and is going to run her fourth with me, gets me so excited and makes me truly believe I too can accomplish such amazing feats!

Let’s Talk About Food
Finally, one of the ways I’m able to continue living a healthy lifestyle is by making sure that the food I’m eating is tasty. Because honestly, it’s sometimes hard to choose the healthy option if it doesn’t sound as tasty as chocolate or ice cream or popcorn. Just saying. So what kinds of things do I like to eat?

Avocados are probably one of my favorite foods. One thing I eat on an almost daily basis is what I call “avocado smash.”

avocado goatcheesebagel
Bagel, avocado mash, goat cheese, and two runny eggsavocadogoatcheesesammie
Rye bread, tomato, goat cheese, and avocado mash

Avocado Mash:
1/2 avocado (mashed, with fork)
Salt
Pepper
Garlic Powder
Paprika
Cumin

So, unlike Jessi, I’m not the biggest recipe follower. I usually mash my avocado and then add the spices – just a little shake of each to get a ridiculously yummy flavor. I add this basically to anything I can – avocado acts as a great condiment and is really nutritious. YUM!

I’m also a huge oatmeal fan. For breakfast, I typically eat a bowl of oatmeal with strawberries, bananas, and honey. It keeps me full until lunch! I’m pretty low-key and use Quaker Instant Oats (1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, microwave 90 seconds) and add in the fruit. Easy peasy and delicious!

oatmeal

Well, I guess I’ve taken over Jessi’s blog long enough! I would love to hear your thoughts on how like to stay motivated and some of the healthy food ideas you have!

One comment

Thoughts?

