Cara Box Exchange

Apparently, today is the day we are revealing our Cara Box Exchange!  SURPRISE.  Cara Box is a fun monthly exchange hosted by Kaitlyn over at Wifessionals.

Cara Boxcara (car-rah) noun   :   beloved friend

June’s theme is “Take Me To The Fair.”  Everyone was supposed to get to know their partners and create a box containing items that related to the things they love surrounding fairs and carnivals.  Well, in south-central Wisconsin, we know how to put on a fair!

Every year for as long as I can remember, my mom would take us to the Rock County 4H Fair.  As we got older it was more like, mom would drop us off at the fair.  But, you get the idea.  Looking back, I have no idea how she kept her cool watching us on those flippin’ rides.  Anything that is that portable and can be driven down an interstate is sketchy!  Of course, as kids, Kelsey and I loved it and didn’t give a second thought to it.  And I’m sure they’re perfectly safe.  …right?

Anyway.  A few of the things I remember from the fair were the barns full of animals, free music concerts, lemonade stands, and the baby duckies the FFA would have on display that would slide down the metal slide while trying to eat.  OH and winning the goldfish.  I’m pretty sure my mom hated that ping pong toss game, but I loved my goldfish for that two full weeks before they would die and go bye-bye down the toilet.  Ah, those were the days.

I was paired with Ashley & Kathryn.

I had a little bit of a chance to get to know Kathryn, but busy schedules made it difficult to connect at times.  Be sure to check out what I sent her this month.

I really enjoyed getting to know Ashley via her blog, Monograms and Margaritas.  Hey, any girl who loves margaritas that much is a friend of mine!  She sent me the most clever box!  First of all, look at how pretty the box is.  Imagine my excitement when I saw this sitting on my front step!

carabox1

The address was on the other side – I don’t want any crazies tryin’ to track me down.

But, what was even better were the contents!

carabox2

I LOVE GAMES.  My family loves games.  We are a gamin’ gang.  Craig loves it.  Not really.  Craig is not a gamin’ guy, but we are trying to convert him.  He really has no choice, he just doesn’t fully realize that yet.

Obviously, a big part of fairs are the carnival games!  Like I said, winning the fish was my favorite.  But, I also loved the squirt water games, where you had to hit the bull’s eye and ‘race’ to the top.   Obviously, Ashley couldn’t fit a skeeball game into the box, but I love the idea she had going here.

What I thought was even more clever were the fried Oreos.  Now, I’ve never had fried Oreos, but I know they pretty much fry everything nowadays, including Twinkies!  How creative was she!?  She found a fried Oreo recipe and sent me the ingredients to make them.  Fair food at its finest!

I really enjoyed the exchange and getting to know these two other women from blog-land.  If you’re interested in participating, check out the information below.

Cara Boxcara (car-rah) noun   :   beloved friend

July’s theme is Nautical.  You have until tomorrow to sign up, which you can do here.

One comment

Thoughts?

