First Step Is The Hardest

…that’s what I have to remind myself. I hate how easy it is to fall out of a habit and how hard it is to get back into it. I’ve been telling myself for a couple of weeks now that I’m going to start running again. I have no excuse not to. The weather is gorgeous and we have a great running trail by our rental. I’m seriously lacking motivation.

One of the biggest issues I’m having is schedule. I’d love to be able to get up before work, knock a run out and be done for the day. That’s fine. For now. Then will come winter and it will be dark until almost 7 am. I’ve never been comfortable running in the dark, especially wearing headphones and I need my headphones when I run. Then there is the fact that I take an hour and a half lunch break. That worked really well for a while. I went to the gym over my lunch and had plenty of time to workout and get back to work. But, sharing the gym with undergraduates and meaty guys that think they’re BAMFs, got old real fast. I could run around the city, but it doesn’t take much to get into the wrong part of town. Not to mention stopping at crosswalks would drive me insane. Oh, and I’d probably never mind my way back to campus. To me, north is up.

Excuses.

I could talk your ear off forever for all of the reasons why I can’t make it work.

sign

I have to face the fact that I’ve lost much of my endurance. I have to get tough and not get discouraged when my mile time is over a minute slower than it was. I have to remember that I can get back there, because I know the way.

fast

This morning, I took my first step towards retraining myself. A measly 2 (okay, it was actually 1.8) mile run. And it was pitiful. But, I got through it. And I plan to get through it again on Saturday. And Sunday. And start working towards re-establishing a healthy habit that I know I’ve loved.

Recovery drink of champions: chocolate milk with the sunrise.

Recovery drink of champions: chocolate milk with the sunrise.

4 comments

  1. Woohoo! You’re so right – it’s so easy to fall victim to the millions of excuses out there. Way to go to get up and take those first steps 🙂 I’m so excited to start virtual and real training with you! We’re going to blow this half marathon outta the water!

    Like

  2. I’m right there with you! I fell off the running wagon, and it was so hard to get back on. For 3 weeks now I have successfully attended a kettle bell class during lunch, and mixing up running with something else has made it easier. I had to accept the fact that my time was so much slower, but tracking my progress with each run helped me to stay motivated. Good luck! You’ll find your mojo again.

    Like

Thoughts?

