Pork Chops

Happy news for Tuesday! Our landlords have found someone to lease our rental home! YAY! One less thing for us to have to worry about. Whew. There was a ton of interest right off the bat, so we weren’t TOO worried, but I always hate to count my chickens before they hatch!

On to pork: I hate bacon. Like, I really hate bacon. Oh, and ham. And pretty much anything that comes from a pig. Except the occasional pork tenderloin or pork chop. I’ve complicated many-a Christmas dinner by insisting that I will not eat ham. While I don’t demand an alternate (there is so much other food to eat!), my family 90% of the time will give me an alternate. I mainly just voice that opinion of mine so that no one is offended with dinner rolls around and I’m not touching the ham that they have spent time and effort preparing.

I guess I just tell you that so you know this is probably the only pork recipe you will ever see on What The Efff. I found this recipe about a year ago on my friend Amanda‘s blog, Chew Love. At the time, Craig was pretty sick and tired of me making chicken every single day of his life and I knew I needed to give something else a try (and risk hating it as I do most pork). But, surprise! I loved it. So did Craig. This recipe is so easy and so delicious. After working a full work day, there is nothing I love more than an easy dinner!

Last night, when I was pulling ingredients, I had a mild panic attack when I realized I had no Italian dressing. Well, you may remember that last month, I received some champagne vinaigrette via Foodie Penpals. I was prepared to try that substitution. And wouldn’t you know it – when I pulled that bottle out the fridge, the Italian magically appeared behind it. I already had my heart set on my mini experiment so I decided to make some with the Italian and some with the vinaigrette.

porkchop ingredients

I’m posting Amanda’s original recipe below, but honestly at this point, I just throw everything into a bowl and hope for the best. I haven’t royally messed it up yet. (YET).

porkchip

Pork Chops

4-6 pork chops
Italian salad dressing
salt & pepper to taste
1/4 c seasoned bread crumbs*

Season pork chops with salt and pepper, then brush them with the dressing. Coat them in bread crumbs and place into a shallow glass baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 to 60 minutes.

*3/4 c Panko bread crumbs, 1/4 c grated Parmesan cheese, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning

I had never used Panko crumbs before trying some of Amanda’s recipes. Now, I’m not sure that I have any interest in going back to the “regular” ones. Panko crumbs make everything much crisper! It’s probably something I do wrong, but regular bread crumbs often remain soggy. Boo. No one likes a soggy dinner.

The substitution with the vinaigrette worked okay. Not quite as good as the Italian, but it was a decent substitute. So, if you ever find yourself without Italian, just try a different dressing – it just may work out!

So there you have it – an easy albeit delicious dinner. Enjoy!

love jessi

7 comments

Thoughts?

