Brownie Batter Pancakes

UGH. Yesterday was BRUTAL. If I never sit inside of a room with no windows, taking a timed, standardized test again, it will be too soon. Honestly, I feel like most of it went okay, but there was one section…the proctor announced 5 minutes remaining and I literally had answered 5 of the 32 questions. I’m not exaggerating. “If there is a 5 day cruise with 5 stops and each stop is only made once and considering the following [Belize comes right after Honduras. Honduras can’t be fourth. Key West has to come before your uncle’s cousin, but before Florida…], which of the following is a possible itinerary? Okay, so clearly that question is made up, but those freaking questions KILL me.

Anyway, on to happier things. Like brownie batter. And pancakes. Brownie Batter Pancakes.

With all of these breakfast recipes, you’d think I was a breakfast lover. Ironically, I’m not. At all. But, breakfast has quickly turned into something that Craig and I can do together on a relaxed weekend morning. Life can get so crazy, it’s nice to have some quiet time together.

This one is from Chocolate Covered Katie. It’s a healthy dessert blog. Yes, you read that correctly. It’s no wonder why I like it so much!

pancake collage

Here is the way I made the recipe, but the original recipe on her blog has a few healthier substitutions.

pancakes done

Brownie Batter Pancakes

1/4 c flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 Tbs Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa
1 Tbs plus 1 tsp sugar
1/16 tsp salt
1 1/2 Tbs oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
5 1/2 Tbs milk

Mix dry ingredients very well, then add wet. Make pancakes!

The master at work! *please excuse the extreme clutter on our counter.  Yikes.

The master at work! *please excuse the extreme clutter on our counter. Yikes.

I doubled this recipe. We had a couple pancakes left over, but I don’t think that making the recipe using the measurements above would be enough for two people. Maybe it would. Maybe I just have a chocolate problem.

love jessi

6 comments

Thoughts?

