Cheap, Homemade Laundry Detergent

Moving back to Wisconsin meant we needed to change our lifestyle a little bit. Not only is the cost of living here more expensive than what it was in Tennessee, we also took a bit of a hit to get back. Nothing major, but we just look for small ways to save a few pennies. For us, that’s meant me taking more time in the kitchen (which I actually very much enjoy!) and finding alternatives for household cleaners and such. There have always been 2 things I HATE spending money on – paper products and laundry detergent. Detergent is so flipping expensive! Thankfully, we don’t pay for many of our paper products because we have a family hookup to a factory. For us, that means we can save a decent amount of money over just a few months!

I started to notice homemade detergents on Pinterest, but many of them required grating soaps. Let’s face it. I’m lazy. Ain’t nobody got time fo’ that! But when I saw this “recipe” at One Good Thing by Jillee, it was right up my alley! Quick and easy and has been working like a charm!

I’ll share it with you, but only if you promise not to spend your Memorial Day doing laundry! Enjoy your extra day off!

soap

Concentrated No-Grate Liquid Laundry Detergent

3 Tbs Borax
3 Tbs Washing Soda
2 Tbs Dawn Ultra Dishwashing Soap
4 c hot water
Cold water

Put Borax, washing soda, Dawn and hot water into a 1 gallon container. Swish until ingredients are dissolved. Fill the container the rest of the way with cold water. TA DAAAA! We use about a 1/2 c per load.

I used hot water out of our tap and that was warm enough to easily dissolve everything.

For those of you who may have concerns about using Borax (I honestly didn’t think twice about it) you should check out Jen’s post at I Heart Organizing. She is using a different recipe (grating soap – no time, people, no time!), but links to this information about Borax.

soap1

You should definitely check out the link to Jillee’s page, she has some extra info about the detergent (like it will work perfectly fine in front loading washers!) and one of her readers broke down the cost (17 cents/gallon!?!?).

ingredients

I honestly can’t recall how much I spent on the ingredients. However, with cost per gallon and the amount of Tablespoons I’m going to get out of each of the boxes – it was more than worth it! I keep everything together in a plastic bag in my closet along with the recipe jotted down (though I have it memorized now!). So, as I continue to hoard bottles need to restock the bottles I already have, it’s super easy to grab and I’m never searching for any of the ingredients – it’s all stuck together – like a little family!

Happy Memorial Day, everyone. Have a safe, happy day!

2 comments

Thoughts?

