Craig Finally Catches Up!

happy bday

Saturday, my husband finally caught up to me! I’m a whole 2 months older than him. (gasp) My mom is almost exactly the same amount of days older than my dad as I am to Craig. …and you know what? My dad hasn’t let her live it down. Ever. My mother becomes “old” for those two months that my dad trails behind her. Of course, he is kidding, though I’m pretty sure I’ve been called a cradle robber at least once by my darling love muffin. He sure knows how to flatter, doesn’t he?

Lucky for him, I love him anyway. I love him so much that for the third year in a row I’ve made him a homemade, made from scratch birthday cake. That’s true love right there. I got up bright and early Saturday morning (ahem, maybe it was more like 9 am or so) to get the cake made so I could frost it after the recital. I have a tendency to get antsy and frost it when it’s still warm…and that never ends well. The recipe I used was intended to be a sheet cake, but I didn’t have a jelly pan to use. Oh, wait. What is that I see? The disposable cake sheet I bought to make Craig’s cake? The one I totally forgot I had until the cakes were in the oven. Ah, shoot. I hate when that happens. I guess I have one for the next time I made a sheet cake. Which will probably be in another 25 years since it’s taken about that long to make my first. Anyway. I made the recipe as it called for, but stuck it into 2-9″ round pans to make a simple layer cake.

pan

It turned out quite delicious, if I do say so myself. Having the cookies crumbled in the cake was awesome and who doesn’t love a good cream cheese frosting!? We have enough cake to last us months and I doubt we will get through it all, but we have been enjoying it nightly since Saturday.

nice outside cake


Cookies and Cream Layer Cake


For the Chocolate Sheet Cake:

2 c granulated sugar
2 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 c buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 c unsalted butter
1/4 c cocoa powder
1 c hot water
1 c chopped Oreo cookies

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 c butter
4 c powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Oreo cookies, chopped-for topping the cake

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 2-8 or 9″ round pans with cooking spray and set aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together sugar, flour, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla extract. Set aside.

3. In a small sauce pan, melt the butter on medium-low heat. Whisk in the cocoa powder and hot water. Turn up the heat to medium-high and bring the mixture to a boil. Add the melted butter mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until smooth. Stir in the egg mixture and mix until ingredients are combined. Stir in the chopped Oreo cookies.

4. Pour the batter into the prepared pans. Bake the cake for 18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the center.

I made this cake in the morning and let it cool for quite a few hours before frosting. I didn’t make the frosting until I was ready to go.

5. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the cream cheese, butter, sifted powdered sugar, and vanilla together. Beat with the beater blade until smooth and creamy.

6. When the cake is completely cool, frost the cake with the cream cheese frosting. Sprinkle the cake with chopped up Oreo cookies.

close up

I got this recipe from Two Peas & Their Pod. The only change I made was to make it as a layer cake, rather than a sheet cake. See above for the stupidity that lead to that. I’m thankful it turned out – I couldn’t stand to have two failed chocolate cake recipes within weeks of each other!

All 3 of the May birthday boys *holy tongue, Rudy!

All 3 of the May birthday boys *holy tongue, Rudy!

2 comments

Thoughts?

