Cinnalmond Bites

single truffle
tease. drool.

Whew.  After my drama-filled Thursday, it turned out to be impossible to get out of bed motivated to go to work. Between mental/emotional exhaustion from Craig’s ordeal, I was also physically tired from donating blood and feeling a bit under the weather due to sleeping with our window open (silly us). I slept most of the day, did our grocery shopping and got going on some baking projects. I have 3 more recipes on the books to share with you all!

rolls

Swirled, rolled, and ready to go for the morning!

Friday night, I prepared these Raspberry Swirl Rolls that I found on Pinterest. Because the dough had to rise, I knew that I couldn’t make these morning-of. So I got them all set Friday night to bake Saturday morning for breakfast. They turned out beautiful, you’ll have to wait for the recipe for the other pretty pictures!

pancake

Craig and I had also decided to do breakfast for dinner so I made these Cinnamon Roll Baked Pancakes. I’ve made them before and they turned out just as yummy the second time around. They were another Pinterest find from Big Red Kitchen. Stay tuned for that recipe!

Saturday, I was a busy, busy bee. I got up for a run and upper body work out and then headed to dance rehearsal. Rehearsal was ROUGH. My body was already pooped from running and working out, so needless to say it wasn’t too purdy. Dress rehearsal is Thursday and recital is Friday and Saturday – ahhh it came so fast!

After dance, Kim and I went shopping together for items to include in our Foodie Penpals this month. We were able to find enough Wisconsin items to fill our parcels. Mine is headed to Texas, so I’m excited to share with her some mid-western goodies! From the store, we headed out for our friend, Todd’s birthday.

And Sunday! Happy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there! You have the most important job in the world!! Since my mama is in Texas, I chatted with her on the phone and headed to grandma’s house. Craig and I spent the whole day planting flowers and visiting with her and my Aunt E. We were able to bring the dogs along and they got along famously with her pooch, Louie. Myles had some drama with her other dog, Cloud, so it was nice for everyone to get along, allowing for a stress-free afternoon.

When we got home, I had just enough time to try these Cinnalmond Bites. A yummy, sweet, treat I’ll share with you now! I got the recipe via Hungry Girl por Vida. She reviewed the No Bake Makery book and highlighted this recipe. The name alone was making me drool, so I knew these had to be made PRONTO.

photo 4

Cinnalmond Bites

12 chocolate sandwich cookies (Like Oreos)
1 c cinnamon toast cereal
5 Tbs sliced almonds, divided
2 tsp ground cinnamon, divided
2 Tbs honey
1/4 c almond milk
1 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 c candy melts or candy bark (I used semi-sweet chips)

Line a cookie sheet with wax (or parchment) paper and set aside.

In a food processor, process the cookies and cereal until fine crumbs form, about 1 minute. Add 3 tablespoons of the almonds and 1 teaspoon of the cinnamon and process for another 30 seconds. Add the honey and almonds milk and process another 30 seconds. Transfer to a clean bowl.

photo 1

Roll the dough into 1-inch balls (I chilled the dough for 30 minutes before beginning this step). Place on the prepared cookie sheet and chill another 45 minutes.

photo 3

Roughly chop the remaining almonds and mix with the remaining cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

Melt the Chocolate according to package instructions. Dip balls into the chocolate and place back on the sheet, sprinkle with almond mixture, and chill until coating is set, about 1 hour.

single truffle

2 comments

Thoughts?

